Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
15
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
14
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 May 2009
It is a pity to label this as a children's book, because all who know Edinburgh will be utterly charmed by the illustrations, which capture the city in a realistic, yet at the same time, romantic way.
Similarly the Edinburgh of nearly 50 years ago is there, but so is the timeless quality of the place.
We were several adults yesterday, who have lived (between us) over 100 years here, poring over the atmospheric drawings and deciding to buy copies as presents for friends and family.
The actual writing is slight, but then it was originally intended for the early reading years, so that was to be expected.
If these drawings appeared on postcards, greetings cards, posters, etc., I am sure they would be snapped up by lovers of Edinburgh.
Now I intend to purchase the author's books on Paris and New York. I anticipate further treats in store.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2010
Miroslav Sasek is a fantastic Illustrator. He has produced books about many Capitals distilling their essence with wonderful humour. They are suitable for intelligent children from about four or five years old, but teenagers and even adults would enjoy them too.
I bought this copy for a six year old Canadian boy who visited Edinburgh last year to remind him of what he saw.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Floc'h - the author of this book - portrays the city well. If you know and love Miroslav Sasek's This is Edinburgh (This Is . . .) then this is a very decent buy, and a great addition to your Edinburgh library. (I am looking forward to Vuitton and/or Floc'h doing Leith though: the banana flats, Ocean Terminal, the ghost tram and so on.)

Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
Bought 2 of these for presents for children. It is a real trip down memory lane including some of the absent landmarks in Edinburgh. The graphics and words are a delight to see and read for an adult or child. What a treat the recipients have in store!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
Makes me want to wear a kilt and a sporran and charming and enchanting books decribing some of the delightful sights of a lovely City which is Edinburgh
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
This is a lovely book. The illustrations are fantastic, especially if you're keen on a bit of retro. I've bought this for my 6 year old son who will enjoy the facts, but have also bought the San Francisco one for my 16 year old niece who will also appreciate the design. The books would be enjoyed by many different ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2015
My son loves it and he is 8 yrs old. Book is laid out so he can dip in and out and he doesn't have to read it from page one to the end, although he has done that as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
For those who know Edinburgh, this book is very entertaining, and the drawings are quite outstanding - a very talented artist. A good read for all ages...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2013
Achild friendly book for our wee Irish grndson .He knows a lot about Edinburgh but this book is very informative and child friendly. good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Only discovered this book via a blog recently, and glad I did. Bought it as a gift for my niece and hope she will enjoy it for years to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse