Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2009
As far as I am concerned, this is the epitome of 4th edition. This book contains loads of game information, and is intended to actually be used at the gaming table, where a lot of extraneous information would just be confusing and time consuming. It does not give a lot of information about ecology or sociology. What it does give is easy-to-use, quickly readable game pieces. If this is what you want, the book rocks.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2010
I recently bought this of ebay in the 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks) for £20 and I think this is a wonderful book that compliments the Dungeon Master's Guide: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) and the Player's Handbook: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook: 1 (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons).

maybe to your suprise after giving this book a 5-star rating, I wouldn't recommend it as sooner or later you will need to buy the other 2.If you already have the other 2 good for you, buy this now, but if you don't I would recomend getting the 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks), this is a truly remarkable set and stands out among the various versions and editions.

my personal favourite oponent is the kobold minion because it only has 1 hit point and that means you don't have to keep record.

one note i feel i must point out is that depending on the size of your group the scenarios can be murderous so you might want to relive your players of some difficulty by changing enemies or removing them.

this book is brilliant with good detail on all monsters and it's well indexed making it a brilliant buy and a deffinate 5-star product for and DM of player but I still recommend the 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2014
Physically, this is high production quality; I've had it for something like 2 years and gone through it a lot and it's still in like-new condition. The art is all great too; everything really gives the monsters a real character. There's a lot of focus on Orcus (being the main antagonist of 4th edition's primary set of published adventures) and I really like the way each monster gets a bunch of variants so that you can make an encounter full of, say, kobolds, while still having a lot of diversity in the enemies (minions, spellcasters, warriors, etc). On that note, the concept of a "minion" (a monster that dies with one hit but has normal stats otherwise) is pretty neat-o and allows for some cool encounters where you can throw wave after wave of enemies at the party while not having it be too overwhelming. The wizard in your party will get a rare moment of badassery when he or she wipes out a bunch of enemies in one attack. I also like how each monster gets a set of points of lore that a PC can recall if they roll high enough on a given knowledge skill - a decent roll allows their character to be passingly familiar with certain points of interest, and higher rolls get rewarded with more obscure (and pretty useful) knowledge. It doesn't look like minions or lore points will make it into the 5th edition Monster Manual (it's not out yet for a few more days so I could be wrong), so that's something that 4th edition has over 5th. Nevertheless, so far, 5th edition looks to be a better ruleset overall and so you might be better off investing in that instead, assuming you haven't already committed to sticking with 4th edition. If you have, then this is by far the best of the 4th ed monster manuals, covering pretty much all the most important enemies your players are likely to face - dragons, beholders, kobolds, gith, yuan-ti, zombies, vampires, angels, demons... good stuff.

Loses a star for being part of the otherwise-disappointing 4th edition, but still great as monster manuals go.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2008
Pretty good book, decent condition and will provide hours if not weeks of interesting reading.
Prompt delivery makes it higher by my standards as we are talking the christmas rush here so all in all not bad at all and I was more or less in the pathfinder camp for much of the time since 4e was announced.
A necessary addition if you want to run the game although if you want a taster take a look at the starter set but not if you to run the whole thing.
Take care and all the best!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2011
Not much to say the book arrived in good time nice and pristine and smelling like a new book should.

Nicely ilustrated and of course it is one of the three core rule books need for the game or two if you are not interested in DM'ing a game.

It has a good selection of monsters although the book is some one hundred pages shorter than the 2nd ed 'Monsterous Manual' it offers a wide selection of monsters to ease you into the game.

In many ways it works well as an introductory book old school will scream it lacks the depth of the older books but on a plus side it doesnt overwelm a new player with information overload and follows the 'streamline' version of play to quickly get players into the game, which I think is the intention of 4e.

Overall not perfect but definately an essential book for the game and those new to D&D.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Seller dispatched promptly with no fuss. The book itself has huge amounts of stat details for various in game monsters, as well as page references in tables at the back based on level and class (which allows for a much easier construction of random encounters). If you're playing 4th edition dungeons and dragons this is a much needed book on the part of the GM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
This book wont blow you away, but it is essential if you are getting deeper into DnD after the Red Box/Basic Set. I have ran quite a few adventures and barely used it, however... you do need it... now and then.... but for the price Amazon are selling it, you cant whinge too much. If I had paid full RRP, id of been a little bit annoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2008
A very useful monster manual that has the data displayed in a concise and easy to use manner. Monsters listed from A to Z makes for finding monsters fast and easy and the statistics block lists their relevant stats from their role in combat to their actual characteristic statistics (want to know what a kobolds' dexterity and wisdom is?). What the monsters powers are and what are the effects are listed in it's stat block and what players would know upon passing a lore check is presented in bite sized chunks of information. This shifts the emphasis from giving the DM a wonderful back story that they may or not enjoy to actually helping defining and letting a player in on the fun by having a mechanic to show just what their character would know in game about the monsters. Also given is it's level and role to help DMs better understand their function in a fight and encounter group helps a DM determine what a party should face.

Also listed are the tactics that monsters would use are mentioned as well alongside a full colour illustration. At the back a glossary and a listing of monsters by level and a useful racial traits used for npc or possible pc races if the DM permits it. My dislikes for this book are the use of symbols for attack powers, they seem a bit small to see and not distinct enough for my liking. Monster descriptions some are brief but all have a full colour illustration. This stops the problem of some things being overwritten and when you look at the page the stat block which a DM needs in a game quickly is there but some entries like the Beholder seem a bit too short. It does have a wonderful full page illustration but more information on it would be nice for new referees to have. The art in this book is very relevant in describing what a monster looks like and seems to be a way of saving on text space with descriptions.
Having used this manual to run a game it is very good at providing when the relevant information is needed fast.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2014
By Far the best thing to get if you are intending to DM for your D&D group, the quality is amazing and by far much easier than just using the PDF's. the graphics as well are worth the price alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2008
Provides all the details needed to throw hundreds of monsters against your players. This book embraces its purpose as a list of encounters, it throws out all pretence of creating a magical ecosystem and focuses on what is important. What the monster is called, weather or not it is trying to eat the party members and how it goes about doing so.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse