Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
16
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 August 2002
I don't think anyone would disagree that the previous volume in this trilogy, Dragons of a Lost Star, left more than a few dangling threads after its gut-wrenching conclusion. And I probably wasn't alone in wondering how Weis and Hickman could tie them all together in the final installment.
The book opens moments *before* the last left off, seen this time through the eyes of Palin in the Tower of High Sorcery, but doesn't linger there long before moving off to other territories, exploring what happens with Mirror and Skie, how the Qualinesti cope with their losses, and Mina's inexorable march on Sanction. Successes and failures carry the feeling of being influenced by the unopposed will of the One God, and the heroes of the story always seem to be fighting a losing battle against hopeless odds. Which is, of course, the stuff of heroic fantasy.
Unfortunately, the scope of the tale requires more than a trilogy. The story simply seems to lack focus, and jumps about between Palin, the Qualinesti, the Silvanesti, Mina, Silvanoshei, the Great Dragons, Sir Gerard, and so on without lingering on any one of them long enough for the reader to really _care_ about any of them. Crises of faith that could be explored in depth are solved almost immediately after having arisen, monumental battles dissolve in a single chapter, and the feelings of the characters involved seem like a distant concern. Instead of feeling their emotion at their triumphs and failures, the reader is left feeling like nothing more than an observer passively wondering how the heroes will get out of this one rather than fearing for them.
This aside, there's no escaping the grandeur of the tale being being told. Weis' and Hickmans' style remains fluid and graceful, and they've certainly lost none of their flair for bringing on the shocks. The final chapters of the book are absolutely amazing, bringing the story to a neat, complete end but leaving much to be explored later.
All in all, this is an excellent, well written piece of work, but with a breadth of material that should have covered a trilogy of its own.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2003
I was shocked, stunned and not to say a little bit amazed at this novel. We are all familiar with what has gone before and this book just throws alot of new ideas out. The main that any true dragonlance fan should read this book is that RAISTLIN appears in it. Enjoy and pray that Weis and Hickman will keep producing such fantastic fantasy. P.S. Flint is still at his forge!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
While the War of Souls trilogy is nowhere near as good as either the Dragonlance Chronicles or Legends it is far, far superior to Jean Rabe's truly appauling New Age trilogy and better than all but the best of all of the Dragonlance novels written by all of the other supporting writers. Dragons of a Vanished Moon nicely wraps up the trilogy and even goes someway to undoing all of the 'damage' done by many of the Fifth Age books that come after 'Summer Flame'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2002
I've waited long and hard for this book, and was it worth the wait... yes. The intricate story of Mina and the One God could not have ended on a better note. If I had sat for months at a time I could not have wrote a better finale. Weis and hickman are not the litery genius like Tolkien, Tad Williams and Jordan but the way they can draw you into their books remains unbeaten to this day. The unkillable Kender Tasselhoff burrfoot is at his best and the tales of compasion, love and the search for something to believe in had me on the edge of my seat for hours.
So if your thinking should I buy this book I would say without a doubt YES... by the whole trilogy, they take the work they started back in the early 80's and finish it in style.
I hope they continue...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 September 2010
Vanished Moon could almost be read standalone rather than a tumultuous end to a trilogy. New ideas blossom in to central themes with strands from the previous two entries becoming almost background story and plausibility is stretched somewhat with the time-travelling McGuffin, which removes any predictability at the cost of suspension of disbelief. Such weaknesses are absorbed by the strengths of the narrative, it's engaging characters and the epic scale of the trilogy. Entertaining from start to finish, the story of Mina and her One God is riveting stuff. It could have been great, however it is still good enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2008
I think this is a quality series in the Dragonlance canon, but not matching chronocles, legends, or The Soulforge. I found the ending to resolve a lot of issues, but quite "jarring" in its sudden presentation and use, once again of magical "deux au machina" to resolve all the plot strands. Would have rated it 4 star if not for the jarring ending, but probably you had better read this if you have already got this far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2009
The Dragonlance series has a good range of characters and plot twist, ensuring a good read the whole way through, this final book in the series ended on another unexpected turn. This ensures that you would be looking for more books under these authors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2015
Not one of the better series of books. I think this is just there to kill of all the original characters. Still a nice read but didn't really enjoy the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2015
Having not read the series for years wasn't quite the fitting end to the original series ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Months of great reading. Always a page turner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse