Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
84
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 September 2007
I was really looking forward to reading this, and I'd certainly recommend it. It does paint a darker side than the TV show portrays, and it's clear that Dog had (and still does have) his demons to fight.

I was amazed by his honesty. He reveals stuff about his life which must be painful, and doesn't always paint him in the way he might like to be portrayed. The information about Baby Lyssa knocked me for six, and how Dog maintains his faith with all the adversity he has faced is a testament to his strength and an inspiration to others.

My only niggle is that the book is confused in places. Some of that could be due to Dog's drug hazed recollections, but in chapter 33 (aprox 1999) it talks about meeting Tim (Youngblood) - that's only 8 years ago, and Dog has hunted with Tim for over 20 years so it is just plain wrong! - That should have been picked up by someone, and there are several other examples which can make the book confusing in places.

Like the previous reviewer, I'd like to have read more about current bounties and the other team members. Leyland, Tim & Duane Lee got less mention than Tony Robbins which is a shame for such key members of Dog's success (perhaps that's for a future book?!)

All in all it is well worth reading and a rollercoaster ride of emotions.
11 comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2007
Got this in the States early in August, makes interesting reading, definitely paints a less prettier picture than the TV series, you knew from the TV that he had a darker past and this book proves it. Would have been nice if it had said more about his bounty hunting now
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 October 2012
A very candid telling of Dog's early life and trials. No punches pulled, though I couldn't help feeling that there was a certain poetic licence applied to some of the tales. None the less,it was an entertaining read. My wife enjoyed the book too so it is universally acceptable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2014
Having watched Dog on TV I bought this book for the 'better half' as a small joke at Christmas but what a book. Never realised what a colourful life Dog had lived. he does not hold back and is open about his childhood and his relationship with his father, his time in jail, his girlfriends and of course his career. Written in a style which is easy to read and with short chapters it is easy to dip in and out of. As it says, you certainly can run but can't hide from the Dog.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
Would recommend to any fan of Dog the Bounty Hunter. If you watch his programmes, you will be familiar with a lot of the information he writes about. Not the best written book ever written, but worth it for the childhood stories, photos included and a fairly interesting read if you are a fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Love the series, and the book doesn't detract from it either-just shows that there aresome people out there willing to go out on a limb to help their fellow man-yes, it's also his job, but a good lesson for all today-YOU can change YOUR life, people will the right motivation can help you no matter what. The key to all this-Study the Bible-find out the answers that matter to you and the power of prayer is always there as Dog shows at the end of each 'job' he does, he always gives thanks to God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Not a bad book about an interesting guy.

You have seen 'Dog' on the TV and you get the picture that he's the good guy who makes his money by catching the bad guy and getting his ass back to jail where they belong.

At the beginning of each 'hunt' you will watch Dog and his family of bail bondsmen and women join hands and pray, they then go on with the catch of their bond throughout the show and at the end they bang them in the back of their pick up, offer them a cigarette, show some compassion and preach them a little bit- "You can get back on track now buddy".

Reading Duanes book puts a story behind the TV show and explains how the 'Dog' came to be.

It sheds light on his slightly chequered past, run ins with the law and how he found his religion.

It's quite an interesting read and is simple enough to follow. A good quick read for any fans of the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
If you're a fan of the show and want to know how Dog got started then this book tells it all. Very interesting and pretty well written. He's certainly had an interesting life and I was actually quite surprised at some of his admissions in the book. Gives you an insight into his and Beth's relationship and the whole Chapman clan.

Ideal gift for a Dog the Bounty Hunter fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2013
I got this book for my mum but i had to read it myself. I'm a huge fan of the show & the family.
I definitely learnt a few things i didn't know about Duane or his journey.
once you pick this up its hard to put down. Its a great book. i only hope he brings out a third soon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
I absolutely love dog the bounty hunter and after reading this book have so much respect for this man. He has been through so much, more than anyone could imagine. Definitely a worthwhile read. I read the whole book in 2 days and was gutted when I had finished as could have read and read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)