Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 13 July 2014
This (the Thomas Nelson edition) is the cheapest version of Josephus on the market, so I purchased it. It's got everything in it, complete and unabridged. The text is clear and easy on the eyes.

The only problem, and one I could not have seen online, is the quality of the paper. It is obviously inferior to the Hendrickson edition. I have the Hendrickson edition of Philo, which is part of 3 book collection also including Eusebius.

So just bear that in mind when purchasing. Quality or price. If I could have chosen I would have paid the extra few £'s, for the extra quality. I can imagine the Hendrickson lasting decades longer than the Nelson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2017
Watch what version you get. This was the William Whiston translation which has a very old way of recording the books. The footnotes are also now very dated and have been rendered obsolete by more up to date scholarship. If you are doing a study you might be better with the Thackery translation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2016
Book arrived early and in extra=fine shape. Still struggling through it but it is slow going and yet one knows that it is worth while and considered so for the last two thousand years. I hope it will be patient with me rather than the other way around. Praises to those who continue to publish and make available this kind of work. CHeers for that! GK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2017
A great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2017
Good but awkward to navigate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2015
excellent value version. the complete works in hardback with readable print size.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2014
This is a good read if you are interested in the history of the time and place otherwise it can be a real chore to get through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
It was a prezzie so I only read a few pages. If you want a comprensive collection of Josephus works at a low price, this is the one
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
This book arrived in perfect condition. Costing £8 sold elsewhere at £40!!! A very interesting read from a contemporary of the Lord Jesus Christ. Should take me a long time to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2012
Excited to get the book and was so disappointed in the quality. Paper was poor and type was out of alignment. What a shame, since it wasn't even the cheapest copy out there. The books outside corner was bent over as well. It shouldn't have even been shipped.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)