Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
10
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£25.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2014
Mark Waid has fast become one of my favourite comic book writers in the last few years. Oddly, before that I was never a fan of his. I just didn't like his work. Maybe he's changed and I've changed and now we see eye to eye.

I digress. This is the best incarnation of Daredevil ever. I know some of you will harp on about the Bendis run or the Brubaker run and how amazing and dark and gritty and emotional blah blah blah. Waid has the best understanding of Matt Murdoch I have ever read. It packs the emotional punch without being bogged down in misery. It is fun and plays well within the Marvel Universe and pokes (good-humoured) fun at the sillier aspects of the same universe while playing it straight-faced.

The artwork is fantabulous. That's right I said fantabulous. Too many artists and inkers...and colourists...and whoever else contributes to this awesome series to mention; and it would be unfair to single any one of them out above the others. The way they highlight his sonar powers is impressive to say the least

Along with Hawkeye I will go and proudly declare from the rooftops that this series and that (Hawkeye) series are the best things Marvel are putting out and at the moment are banging out such great work across most of their titles.

Bring on the oversized volume 3.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The stories from issues #6-10 of the Marvel Now (2014) series of Daredevil are collected, along with issue #1.50, as Daredevil Volume 2: West-Case Scenerio. This is another excellent collection of stories emphasising the human side of being a superhero. The collection opens with a 50th anniversary celebration, page 3 of which fooled me completely. Then we are almost back to the regular continuity, for an Original Sin story which is set in New York, after Matt has been disbarred just before the migration west. Daredevil was in the blast radius of the Watcher's memory bomb, and his vision was of a childhood scene of his mother and father in a domestic dispute. Normally, of course, you'd just go and ask your mother about it, but unfortunately Matt's mother has just been abducted by a secret military unit for terrorism and has been deported to Wakanda; some families, hey? The final three-part story sees the return of the Purple Man, but this time he's brought his kids with him. You'll find a reference to them in the 50th anniversary issue, along with the Owl's daughter. This collection appears to be all about family relationships: synchronicity or good planning? - only Mark Waid knows...

These are all excellently written and illustrated stories, with surprise twists and turns in each one. As I keep saying in these reviews, Daredevil is the most human of Marvel's characters, despite all the swinging around rooftops and stopping stolen police cars with his bare hands (and a Billy-Club). Oh, and Kirsten and Foggy also play their parts in the stories.

THE SPOILER ZONE
THE SPOILER ZONE

Daredevil #1.50 - 50th anniversary issue
“The King in Red”, 22pp, is set on Matt Murdock’s 50th birthday, and opens in the middle of San Francisco with the majority of the population mysteriously struck blind. Matt is now married (we don’t know who to), with a son, who is recovering from sensory overload when his “daredevil” powers kicked in unexpectedly and almost burned his senses out. This has left him extremely nervous, and he reacts badly to sudden noises and surprises… Anyway, somebody sets off a device that blinds most of the city’s population, and it is down to Daredevil to hunt them down. Foggy (with unfeasibly long hair) works out how the device is affecting people, but Matt has to deal with the villain and the device itself. That is all just background noise, however. The story is really about Matt and his son, and how they handle the role reversal situation that mirrors Matt and his father’s relationship. I was there for issue #1 50 years ago, and just typing this has brought a tear to my eye.

“The Last Will and Testament of Stana Morgan”, 5pp, is a text piece with background illustrations.

“The Last Will and Testament of Mike Murdock”, 8pp, sees Foggy and Matt reviewing an old video-diary made by “Mike Murdock” back in the day, which has just been found lying around in a Baxter Building storeroom.

Issue #6 is an Original Sin story which is set in New York, after Matt has been disbarred just before the migration west. Daredevil was in the blast radius of the Watcher’s memory bomb, and his vision was of a childhood scene of his mother and father in a domestic dispute. Matt sets off to question his mother about it, but discovers that she is in prison awaiting extradition to Wakanda, having been convicted by a secret military tribunal of terrorism. After getting nowhere with the legal and judicial systems, Daredevil breaks into the Wakandan Embassy looking for answers…

Issue #7 concludes the Original Sin story from issue #6, with Daredevil heading into Wakanda to rescue his mother and her colleagues, extradited for “terrorism” when they uncovered a secret Wakandan military research project underway in New York. Daredevil confronts the Black Panther, Queen Shuri, her royal guards, and the entire Wakandan army, with nothing but his legal training and a secret weapon. Note, this probably takes place before the events taking place in the Avengers’ titles.

Issue #8 opens with the return of the Purple Man, who is apparently kidnapping children. Matt Murdock meanwhile is at the zoo with Kirsten McDuffie, being subjected to more of her humour, before they go off to meet her father and stepmother, where Matt is offered an eight million dollar advance for his memoirs… Once back in costume, he is called to the latest crime scene, where he and the police identify that the Purple Man is in town. However, as we discover, the children are all his, and when brought together, they collectively have mind control powers also, and they are not happy at the loss of their mothers…

Issue #9 opens with the Purple Children, having disposed of their father the Purple Man last issue, testing their mind control abilities. Meanwhile, Matt, Kirsten and a disguised Foggy are dining out and discussing the offer from Kirsten’s father for Matt’s memoirs. Matt is interrupted by the sounds of the Purple Children’s escapades, and goes to investigate, ending up in a fight with the mind-controlled riot police, before being thrown off a bridge by the Children…

Issue #10 opens with Daredevil hiding under the bridge the Purple Children’s mind control powers pushed him off last issue, reduced to a nervous wreck. Here the Purple Man (having recovered from being dead last issue) finds him, and gives him a good kicking, before accidentally triggering the key to Daredevil’s recovery from the Children’s influence… Eventually, Daredevil and Killgore (the Purple Man) separately track down the kids, and, in their own ways, set about trying to take control of the situation…
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
One of my favorite comic-book runs is not only still keeping-up the same level of quality, but is also better than its ever been.

Mark Waid and Chris Samnee click like Lennon and McCartney. They inject color and fun into Daredevils world but still make sure that there's still edge and stakes to everything. Ultimately creating an engaging story.

Another installment of one of my favorite runs which reminds me why its one of my favorite runs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
Mark Waid continues his inspired reinvention of the Daredevil character from the moody, troubled man he was after Frank Miller was done with him in the 70s/80s and a string of other writers continued, to taking the character back to his cheerful, happy-go-lucky roots who smiles and has a good time. I have no desire to read yet another angst-y vigilante with "problems" book so it's great to see a superhero enjoying being a superhero for a change especially one who's been written as a depressed, sometime insane, and all-round gloomy guy for so long - the cover of issue #7, the Christmas issue, says it all.

Nowhere is the change in direction more apparent than in the opening story where Foggy reminds Matt that he's sat in his darkened office brooding, prompting him to emerge, smiling and wearing a "I'm Not Daredevil" shirt, flirting with the ladies and enjoying the party. He also takes a group of blind kids on a trip which ends badly after the bus crashes and they're stranded in the snowy woods. This opening issue is definitely my favourite of the book.

Worryingly, Waid takes Daredevil down the old dark ways again when Moleman and his Moloids plunder the graveyard where Matt's dad "Battlin'" Jack Murdock is buried so Daredevil descends to the world beneath the ground which looks like Hell. This was the weirdest story not least because Mole Man was a shlumpy scientist only now he wears a cheesy Silver Age outfit and is somehow matching Daredevil in combat! But it's visually interesting and has this mild gothic horror vibe to it that's cool.

The main story, as continued from the first book, is that Daredevil has a device called the Omegadrive, formerly the property of the Fantastic Four (and looking like an FF badge) which is a storage device that contains information on five of the world's biggest crime agencies (Hydra, AIM, the Black Spectres, Agence' Byzantine and the Shadow Empire). All five are after him and one of them enlists Black Cat, aka Felicia Hardy, to steal it from him. She and her old flame Spider-man cross over with Daredevil in a fun issue. Waid knows how to write Spidey really well and the dialogue between him and Daredevil is fantastic - you get a real sense of a history and a strong friendship there.

I have some very minor complaints that didn't really detract from my enjoyment of the book. It ends in a very similar way to the end of the first book which again underlines Waid's unusual approach to the character and his treatment of the superhero in this series - but I kind of wish it didn't feel so much like the first book's ending.

Paolo Rivera's art is as wonderful as it was in the first book - his depiction of DD's radar sense is awesome - but I wasn't as convinced of the quality of the other artists on the book. Emma Rios drew Spidey with small, squinty eyes that looked like slits rather than full eyes which was odd, and Khoi Pham really goes overboard with Black Cat's cleavage, giving her massive knockers that are ready to pop out of her ridiculously low-cut one-piece at any moment!

I wasn't fully on board with the series after the first book but this second book has won me over. Matt's character shines through strongly in this book and there's enough variety and action in his adventures to keep the book from becoming slow and stale. An excellent, upbeat and exciting Daredevil adventure - I'm starting to see why it's such an acclaimed series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 January 2013
Daredevil by Mark Waid Vol. 2 collects issues #6-10 and 10.1 of the 2011 relaunch of Daredevil alongside Amazing Spider-Man #677, which begins a story completed in #8 of Daredevil. As you've guessed, Waid handles the scripting duties and art is from the extremely capable Paulo Rivera, Kano and Khoi Pham. The book is in standard trim, available in both hardcover and paperback, and soon to be released in oversized hardcover as the second half of Daredevil by Mark Waid - Volume 1, which also collects the first of the smaller 6-issue volumes.

You may have heard of this series given the amount of buzz it's generated in comic-buying communities. Most of this seems to stem from Waid's philosophy that Daredevil, who for around ten years has been subjected to all manner of nastiness from mental breakdown to literal demonic possession, doesn't need to be a dark, grim 'n' gritty character (and before we move on, I use that pair of g-words with tongue planted firmly in cheek). Waid's DD is in recovery, and spends a lot of time flirting, quipping and adventuring, which is what these comicbooks were designed for in the first place. As much as I love Bendis' and Miller's runs on the title, I'm happy to see this, well, happy hero, and so long as Waid's taking the book in this direction I'll be in tow. The renumbering (making this the third volume of the title) is so much more than a marketing tactic to bring in new readers: it's also a statement of intent, announcing that it's time for Matt Murdock to head for greener pastures and at last make amends with the troubles he's had over the last decade of stories.

This second volume collects stories in which Matt must guide a group of children to safety through a blizzard, a crossover with Black Cat and Spider-Man (also collected in Spider-Man: Flying Blind) which displays Waid's remarkable grasp of character for that other of New York's red-clad supes, and a subterranean conquest to recover some coffins from the Mole Man. That reads just as good as it sounds. There's not an issue that goes by in which Waid doesn't dazzle with his ideas for the character, from the way his radar is presented to the challenges he faces down fearlessly (ostensibly because if he could see anything, he might think twice about it). It's as though these ideas should be immediately apparent to any DD writer, considering how well just about everything he writes works. For Waid, Daredevil's blindness yields unlimited potential. Read the Mole Man issues to see what I mean.

Of course, it's not just Waid's work on the title that's got chins wagging. Paolo Rivera's art is a perfect fit for the title, making sure this run is remembered as one of the great Marvel collaborations. Again, what he puts on the page often makes you think "why's Daredevil not done that before?". These guys GET these characters so well. Perhaps the unsung hero of these issues is colourist Javier Rodriguez, whose use of pinks and greens and embellishment for those radar panels is literally marvellous. The book is gorgeous, and I can't wait for the upgrade in size.

A third volume has already been released with a fourth due in March. I'd suggest as a reasonably well-read comics fan that you get onboard thie series pronto - it may well be the best Marvel book on the stands today.

***As ever, I keep an eye on the comments section, so if you'd like to know anything about the book please ask below.***
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
I just read the first volume and had to get the second as soon as possible. You won't be disappointed. This is one of the best books you can get.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2015
Quick delivery. Fab book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2016
excellent. fast delivery.quality product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2015
My son loves it, thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2016
Fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse