Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 April 2017
I love Angela, I just wish she would be drawn with more than just tiddy armour and a belt.
Decent comic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Guardians of the Galaxy: New Guard Vol. 2 collects issues #6-10 of this post-Secret Wars series. Peter Quill has been sacked as Emperor by the Spartax power brokers, due to his breaking the planet in the previous volume - Guardians of the Galaxy: New Guard Vol. 1 - Emperor Quill.

Anyway, this volume opens in the middle of a story - that of Quill and Kitty Pride. As it turns out, each issue features a different grouping of Guardians, who are all in the middle off something - a hunt for a missing person - but eventually the stories and flashbacks all come together and all is revealed, along with a 4 ½ star story, the first really great one that we have seen in a long time.

I commented in my review of the previous volume that the Guardians just seemed to be marking time, which I attributed to the effects of the film in bringing in new readers who had to be eased into the Marvel Universe. Well, that time is over, and this is one of the best Guardians stories I have seen in a long time, as they get back to doing what they do best - Guarding the Galaxy; and this time the Badoon are finally getting their come-uppance.

This really is a superb story- plot, script and art - and we even find out what happened to Gamora’s Black Vortex-induced powers (and by implication, what happened to everyone else’s), and Flash learns to speak Groot!

Not quite 5 stars, but definitely more than four.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
4 stars because of mystery and drama.
Love how some characters show their feelings .
Disliked nothing! Except for not seeing Stark again where did he go!?
Plus love the last book, book 1 and now, book 2 and I hope I enjoy book 3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Brilliant story to read and a terrific get an extrondary pictures which was very interesting to look and read thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2017
Great one nice one good good good good good good good great good good good good good good good good required now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2014
The ending of Age of Ultron saw time tear and multiple things change as a result, one of them being the introduction of Angela into the Marvel Universe. Who’s Angela, you say? She was a celestial bounty hunter created by Neil Gaiman during his short run on Todd Macfarlane’s Spawn series in the early 90s. She disappeared for several years while Gaiman and Macfarlane fought for who owned the rights to the character with the courts eventually favouring Gaiman. So now she’s back after Gaiman handed her over to Marvel for an appearance in the rebooted Guardians of the Galaxy, and was subsequently touted as co-writer on the Angela issues, eventually getting bumped down to consultant on Angela’s dialogue(!) for some reason. Marvel are trying to make Angela a big deal even though, if we’re all honest, few people heard of her until recently, and even fewer cared. And even though I’m not sure why her introduction had to be such a big event, she has been an ok addition to this increasingly unexciting series.

The Guardians are momentarily split with Rocket, Gamora, Tony and Groot bumming around on their spaceship while Star-Lord and Drax investigate the time incursions alien planet-side. This book commits one of the most annoying things I hate about superhero comics – arbitrary superhero fights. Angela shows up, is understandably angry at being suddenly displaced and heads to Earth for answers – Gamora then decides to attack Angela for no reason and the two swordfight on the moon. What happened to communication? How about talking to Angela first before trying to slice her head off? The fight is undeniably visually cool but in the aftermath everyone sheepishly realises if they’d just talked to start with, all of the fighting could’ve been averted – DUH! But this is a superhero comic so they’ve got to shoehorn arbitrary superhero fighting, even if it makes the book stupider than it is.

And let’s talk about Angela’s redesign which is basically a belt, a helmet and a ribbon - they should just call her the Angel of Strippers and be done with it! But when we finally get around to hearing her speak (Gaiman earning his paycheck), it’s fairly unremarkable stuff and there isn’t much more we learn about why she’s here – Age of Ultron happened and boom! suddenly she was in the Marvel U! The depiction of Heven, Angela’s home, is awesome though, suitably abstract and weird for an alien, alternate universe that Earth humans have made into a destination for the afterlife.

While the art is pretty good throughout – Sara Pichelli is amazing, she gives Steve McNiven a run for his money in this book - Star-Lord’s meeting with Thanos is simply bizarre. Thanos is MASSIVE. Look at the character in Thanos Rising or Infinity – he’s a tall, bulky dude that’s about 7 feet tall max but the way he’s depicted in this book makes him look double that! I don’t understand why he suddenly grew just for this book, and it just looks ridiculous. Then to conclude their meeting, Star-Lord and Thanos fight and the scene immediately cuts - later on Star-Lord shows up, unharmed. What happened in their fight? No clue, we’re not told, it’s just a big ol’ plot hole right there, because in a fight between the two, Thanos is clearly the winner – all Star-Lord has is a gun while Thanos has god-like powers and could kill Star-Lord with his bare hands!

Bendis has a bad habit of throwing stuff in simply because he thinks it’s cool – Thanos’ appearance, the Angela fight, hell, Angela’s appearance in the first place! – not because it makes for a better story. But one thing he does really well is banter among characters and this book is no different. The interactions among the team like discussions on Rocket’s disturbing new catchphrase “BLAM! Murdered you! You’re dead! BLAM!”, Tony Stark’s outdated (by Guardians’ standards) tech, and the gossip that follows an office romance – Tony and Gamora hook up! – being the highlights.

However, none of these things hides the fact that there’s no real story to this book. Angela is the story and given that she’s kind of a dull character with no real personality who barely speaks, the book is a pretty stultifying read. This volume features some of Bendis’ laziest plotting this year (and I’ve read Age of Ultron!) which manages to drain the initial excitement of the new series. Great art aside, Guardians of the Galaxy needs a much stronger story if it’s going to make its audience connect and care about this still fairly unknown cast of characters.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
Great follow up to the Cosmic Avengers. We get to know our spunky cast and what they're about a little more as well as get to see some great action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2016
Its not as good as Volume 1; but the artwork is good and the story is fun
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Excellent, funny and entertaining. Worth a read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2016
Good read, good quality and thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse