Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
I got this for my boyfriend who is a huge Dark tower fan... it brought a tear to his eye at how beautiful they are. Slowly getting him the full collection and looks great on a book shelf. The artwork is incredible
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2009
The Dark Tower Cometh!, 'The Long Road Home' is just as stunning as the first graphic novel in the series, 'The Dark Tower: Gunslinger Born (Dark Tower 1), the artwork is amazing and the story is just as good as the original novels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
Its been about a year since i read the gunslinger born. In the time between reading that ad this, the long road home i have read 5 stephen king novels, and a multitude of marvel graphic novels. They were good, but the are all just a pillar for this.

In my own opinion, surely not everyones, but if your reading this you might agree, that the dark tower series is one of the best fantasy series of all time. The question is what does the long road home add to that?

Without ruining the story, ill say that it adds a considerable amount of knowledge we previously never had about the crimson king, as well as doing what it says on the cover, adding to the gap years between the barony of mejis and jericho hill.

I do have to say the artwork is once again brilliant, with a lot of effort being put into the book. Once again hard bound in leather straight away you are getting value for money. The writing is good, but recognisably comic dialogue rather than novel dialogue. Its snappish, witty, and not a word is ever wasted.

There are 2 bad points about this book though, as happy as i am with it. The first is that the plotline is very thin. not a lot really happens, i can see this being a set-up for another book down the line. The other thing is i dont see it being instantly accessible to those who have never read the novels. There are references to other books than the wizard and glass in here.

One final thing, at the back is a map, which shows the path roland took on his journey in wolves of calla, song of susannah and the dark tower.

Even if you arent a fan of graphic novels in the slightest if you want the dark tower you will enjoy this.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"The Gunslinger Born" explored the origins and early struggles of young Roland Deschain, as well as the loss of his first true love, Susan Delgado.

And Stephen King's "Dark Tower: The Long Road Home" picks up right after that, showing us more devastating events that shaped Roland Deschain into the gunslinger anti-hero we know and love. While the first part is rather slow, it has plenty of horrific moments and the haunting quality of a "world that has moved on."

A devastated Roland takes down Susan's charred body, as Alain and Bert argue about whether they should be stopping. But suddenly Roland fires at Maerlyn's Grapefruit -- which suddenly turns into a tentacled eyeball that jumps on Roland's face, and enthralls his very soul before they can peel it off. His ka-tet is chased by a bunch of local thugs, the last Big Coffin Hunter, and a ghastly pack of mutated wolves.

Nearby, a mentally challenged boy named Sheemie was seen climbing into old war machines, only to encounter a strange robot that is somehow still "alive."And inside Maerlyn's Grapefruit, Roland is slowly being driven mad in his own memories -- right before being dragged to the hellish citadel of the Crimson King, who reveals a ghastly secret to the young boy from long ago, which will change him forever...

"The Dark Tower: Long Road Home" isn't quite as gripping as its predecessor, "The Gunslinger Born" -- partly because it's a briefer story, and partly because it's simpler. It's a tribute to Stephen King's original story -- and to the hauntingly vivid artwork -- that it's still such an intense rollercoaster ride.

After the heartbreaking first few pages, the plot speeds into a suitably confusing, desperate chase through a lonely wilderness, with plenty of gunshots and dying creatures. Things actually get rather gory as Roland's pals struggle over rickety bridges and across a red-tinged wilderness, since one of them almost gets his arm bitten off (and announces that he'd rather die than shoot left-handed forever. Hardcore, kid).

And since this is a world made by Stephen King, we have plenty of the eerie and the horrible -- Sheemie's confrontation with a baby-faced robot is just one example. King's rich, old-time narrative translates well into comic form, almost as if he were conversing with the readers ("But don't be laughing at Sheemie, I beg ya, because he's been through considerable trials").

And Jae Lee and Richard Isanove really bring this story to life -- they create a world split between bright bloody red mist and autumnal twilight, filled with shadowy faces, barren lands, and ghastly pursuers. And inside the Grapefruit, we get a full cornucopia of horrors, with Roland defiantly trying to keep his sanity and soul intact in a dusty, hazy landscape full of withered trees, tragic future selves, evil crows, lumpy castles, and the vaguely spidery King with his hellish magic and his suitably evil offers to Roland.

"The Gunslinger Born" introduced Roland as a boy, but "The Long Road Home" has undeniably made him a man. He has the guts and integrity to snarl not just at Marte but at the King himself. And after being in Roland's shadow for so long, Alain and Cuthbert also get to take center stage here -- we get to see just how strong and capable they are.

"Dark Tower: The Long Road Home" is not as tightly-written as its predecessor, but it's filled with a sense of overhanging horror and some solid action for the sidekicks. Definitely worth checking out.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
The Gunslinger Born was a narrative mess, bogged down with the difficult task of presenting the contents of a novel in comic form. Furthermore, Stephen King's consistently dull characterisations and narrative didn't really help make it a compelling package. The Gunslinger Born was worth it for the fantastic world King created, and for the art of Jae Lee. It often just felt like the cliff-notes of a much wider tale, not a tale built for the format, and not an especially fantastic tale at that. I gave that book 2 stars.

The second, The Long Road Home is not burdened by pre-existing text. The flashback content of the books was covered in its entirety in the first volume, so from here, it is all original content by Robin Furth and Peter David. This allows for better narration, dialogue, characterisation and pacing. This makes for an utterly thrilling tale I found hard to put down, and look forward to reading the rest.

I write this review as someone relatively unfamiliar with the Dark Tower books. I would recommend this to anyone, were it possible to skip the first. However, I would also argue it was worth reading The Gunslinger Born just to traverse The Long Road Home, and I hope the rest of the series continues to live up to that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
Got this as a gift (A Gunslinger Born too) and took me straight back to that world. The books themselves are beautifully bound and the artwork is immense. I won't spoil the story but its wonderful for the fans of the novel to get 'the extra' bits. The first one was basically the wizard and the glass, this one is an immediate follow on telling of the journey back to Gilead. The characters look as I pictured them, (except Oy, I've never seen an image of him that looked right, to me at least.) So its better than watching a film... Please don't let them make the film!!!! There is just enough to let your own imagination work too. Any Dark Tower junkie should own these. Truly beautiful. Again, thankee Marvel... And Santa.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2009
You think the front cover is good?! wait to you see the artwork inside. SUBLIME. I kid you not, this sets the bench mark for graphic novels. Just as impresive as the first (a gunslinger born). I know its off the subject but the artist is the same for X men origins, Wolverine. If you've read it or looked at it you know the caliber to expect. Nothing short of excellance. I haven't mentioned the dialogue as these books need no justification, introduction or explanation. The rose calls, the world turns and we all follow the beam. Da da can, da da cant, this graphic novel is excellant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2010
A fantastic follow-up to the Gunslinger Born. Marvel transformed the books in an unbelievable way. Can't wait to read the next ones and complete my collection. A brilliant buy and would recommend it to anyone considering buying the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
The artwork is amazing. The storyline is perfect. The oeverall thought of what this graphic novel brings is amazing. It really is a high quality and premium book.

Buy this if you like books like Preacher, Sandman etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here