Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 January 2017
Perfect
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2017
It did what it said
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Well researched and a compelling read. Completely convicts the soul and focusses the point of life. Hard going but an essential read for a complete understanding of our walk with the Lord.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
great product
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
Thought provoking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Excellent service. Highly recommended A+++
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2011
I found Erasing Hell to be a well throughout, easy to read, bible study on hell. In an age of political correctness Hell is a very unpopular idea - the idea of God eternally punishing and rejecting people doesn't sit easily with anyone. But the choice that we have is to either reinterpret what the Bible says about Hell to make it more palatable and God more understandable or we can accept what the Bible says about hell being a real place. Erasing Hell is not just a book that sets out to defend the existence of Hell in the light of Rob Bell's assertion that the only hell we face is hell on earth, but instead it is a very thoughtful book looking at what the bible says about hell and also asking the hard questions of what hell says about God.

I had expected this book to be more defensive, after all it is largely a response or reaction to Bell's book `Love Wins' but yet this is not a book of gloating - Chan and Sprinkle find no joy in the existence of hell. Instead they invite us to allow God to be bigger than we can grasp or limit and spurs us on to action - if people really do face hell what are we going to do about it? Chan's book restores a reverence for God's word, awe of God's character, wonder at His grace and a call to evangelism. This is not only a book on doctrine but a call to believers to share God's grace.

Here are a few of the highlights:

Erasing Hell on Universalism
"No passage in the Bible says that there will be a second chance after death to turn to Jesus. And that's frightening. It's frightening because the idea of an after-death conversion is the most important ingredient for the Universalist position. It makes or breaks this view. But there is no single passage in the Bible that describes, hints at, hopes for, or suggests that someone who dies without following Jesus in this life will have an opportunity to do so after death."

Erasing Hell on Bell's theory that Gehenna is a rubbish pit outside Jerusalem
"Much of what Bell says about hell relies upon a legend from the Middle Ages"

Erasing Hell on hell being more than just a doctrine
"It forces me back to a sobering reality: This is not just about doctrine; it's about destines. And if you're reading this book and wrestling with what the Bible says about hell, you cannot let this be a mere academic exercise. You must let Jesus' very real teaching on hell sober you up. You must let Jesus' words reconfigure the way you live, the way you talk, and the way you see the world and the people around you."

Erasing Hell on understanding God's character
"God never asked us to figure out His justice or to see if His way of doing things is morally right. He has only asked us to embrace His word and bow the knee, to tremble at His word, as Isaiah says (66.2). Don't get so lost in deciphering that you forget to tremble.

"God is love, but He also defines what love is. We don't have the license to define love according to our own standards."

"Hell is the backdrop that reveals the profound and unbelievable grace of the cross."

Erasing Hell on hell being a real place
"All I know is that from my best understanding of Scripture, hell is real place for those who choose to reject God. Yet God is not licking His chops looking for any poor soul that He can send to hell.
66 Comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
excellent, well written and challenges your long held 'holy cows'.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
a heart-wrenching listen as the listener listens and considers their position. Examines bible verses and behaviors. Insightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2011
Who would have thought that the 'hot topic' (pun intended) of 2011 would be that of Hell? After Bell's 'Love Wins', it was only a matter of time until a respected Christian leader wrote a rebuttal and eased themselves on to the NYT bestseller list. It would have been easy for Chan to write a harsh critique of Bell's book. It would have been easy for him to stir up even more debate and division. What he did, however, was something that required a huge amount of skill and is a testimony to his talent as a writer: he humbly and straightforwardly communicated his view of what the Bible says to the topic of Hell in a way that made clear the areas of disagreement but showed grace toward those with whom he disagreed. The tone of this book alone is worth the 4 stars I have given it!

As to the content: Chan has clearly carried out a huge amount of research into this topic and has put forward the biblical position on hell in detail and with clarity. To avoid writing a somewhat dull bible commentary, Chan suffuses his prose with enough anecdotes and personal pleas to make the reader feel as if they are going on the journey of discovery with Chan, rather that sitting in a lecture given by Chan. This is a very different approach to Bell's book which is brash and defiant in its tone - and which raises lots of questions without many answers. Chan's book raises the questions - with fear and trembling - and then goes on to provide coherent answers from the Bible. Two totally different styles - both valid in my opinion.

It is very difficult to argue with anything that Chan writes - he backs up every point with clear examples from the Bible. The one main error in logic that did annoy me was when Chan set forth the view of Hell that was prevalent in 1st century Palestine and then stated that if Jesus disagreed with this position he would had HAD to spoken out against it and set forth his own opinion. This seems to me to be a very dangerous assumption as it leads us to a position where we have to say that if Jesus didn't specifically teach in opposition to the prevalent view of his day, he agreed with it. Think of slavery and you have enough trouble there to raise serious questions about Chan's premise!

This error in logic notwithstanding - the book is an excellent summary of what the Bible says about Hell.
33 Comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)