Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11
3.7 out of 5 stars


on 3 August 2010
For those interested in purchasing an accurate book of sheet music from the stage play (or the Frank Oz film), this isn't necessarily the best.

Some great songs from the original stage musical such as "Mushnik and Son" and "Now (It's Just the Gas)" are not included in the book, while the version of "The Meek Shall Inherit" completely omits Mrs Luce's appearance. The Finale has been printed in the wrong key (D-flat) so that when playing along to the recording, the notes do not match. The proper key is C major, and users need to transpose the Finale before playing it.

"Prologue (Little Shop of Horrors)" skips whole verses, and includes inaccurate lyrics (suggesting to the singer to sing 'Comma' as in the punctuation mark (,) rather than the original text, "Come-a."

Song Listing:
"Prologue (Little Shop of Horrors)" (Abridged, Incorrect Lyrics)
"Skid Row (Down Town)"
"Da-Doo"
"Grow For Me" (No introduction)
"Somewhere That's Green" (No Introduction)
"Some Fun Now" (The abridged film version of "Don't It Go to Show Ya Never Know")
"Dentist!"
"Feed Me (Git it)"
"Suddenly, Seymour"
"Suppertime"
"The Meek Shall Inherit" (Abridged)
"Mean Green Mother From Outerspace" (Did not feature in Stage Musical)
"Finale (Don't Feed the Plants)" (Incorrect Key)

It is a shame that this is the best available product for Little Shop of Horrors Sheet music, bar the Conductor's Score which is unfortunately only available with a performing license.
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2002
This is a Songbook, ie it has the excellent tunes and lyrics that feature in the great movie/stage muscial "Little Shop Of Horrors."
It seems that another reviewer gave it two stars because he expected a "novel." That's certainly not what the book claims to be, and a definite 5 stars for the quality of the music involved :)
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2006
This book contains every song from the 1986 film, including some that were cut from the film, but appear in the original stage version. The book is nicely presented and the music is fairly straight forward to play, it also includes the lyrics.

The book does not contain the script from the film and does not advertise anywhere that it does.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
This book is going to help me learn to read music along with a very talented friend. Love the music from this film/musical, and would love to play Seymour (but i'm a bit old) or Oris (The Dentist) or even Audrey II (Feed me!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
It's alright...The songs are neatly presented but some of the lyrics are wrong, some of the songs are missing and some are in the wrong key.
Unfortunately this is the only version of the music that is available...Which is a shame for huge fans of the show.
Also songs that are originally written in harmony like the first song "Little Shop of Horrors" - don't have the harmonies written in. A pain if you want to perform the song with the 3 part harmony, I guess I'll just have to figure it out myself...
The songs are fantastic! The book is ok, but it doesn't do the songs justice... :P
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Bought for my 11 year old daughter, who loves the film and wanted to be able to play the songs on her guitar... she is really happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Good quality product and delivered promptly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2016
Well transcribed, but made cheaply.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2008
I purchased this as it came up when I did a search for the script. Was a waste of money for me, as I needed the play, not the musical score! (If I had wanted the musical score, I would be very happy with it though!)
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)