Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 July 2014
Not to be read as a stand alone book but interesting sci fi with lots of twists and turns along the way. The characters are developed in this last episode but cannot escape from what is an ongoing war story which will not be to everyones taste . I enjoyed the book for what it was with its contacts with intelligent alien races and background governmental human conspiracies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2010
The Last Colony and the fourth book in the series Zoe's Tale cover the same time period from two different points of view. Accidentally reading Zoe's Tale before the Last Colony didn't actually detract from the story at all!

While they don't have the pop pop pop! of the first two books, Old Mans War and The Ghost Brigades, they are still a thoroughly enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2014
I thought that this neatly rounded off the family of "Old Mans War" books.. Different from the previous books in that the was more politics and less gung-ho. The dialogue is sharp and humourous and personally want to find out more about Scalazi's universe. Have purchased "Zoe's Tale" and note that "The Human Division" are also in this universe, looking forward to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2016
Working my way through the series as I really like Si-fi human/alien war stories and this has been the best for a long time since 'the forever wars' by Joe Haldeman, but unlike his series were sequels like 'forever peace' were a let down, the Old mans war series have sequels that are as good and gripping as the first book (so far, as I have not read the rest yet).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2016
Weirdly ready this at the same time as the latest Expanse novel, and they have a similar core plot (planetary frontier etc...)

Not a complaint, just love to share. Would recommend both highly.

People say this series tails off but I'd say it's a great continuation. Much funnier than the second now that our favourite old man is back
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Got to about 82% and a whole paragraph was repeated, couple repeated words.

If this is the type of thing that annoys you, leave a review to enact some change.

The story is great, of course, not up to Old Man's War universe expansion or Ghost Brigade's in depth look at specfor, but good in its own agricultural/political way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
Not as much fun as Old Man's War and The Ghost Brigades, but it is fairly short, easy to read and it does a good job of concluding the trilogy. So if you read the first two books it is worth reading this one just to see how the story ends. If you haven't read them, then do so first as they have most of the fun and the best ideas of the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 August 2009
I like this chaps work -it is not a mind boggling masterpiece,
but it is a good fun read.

I'm not going to get all arty and f**ty about it - I'll leave that to others with more time -but its a good holiday or bedtime read and a good break from the humdrum of reality - since there is none whatsoever in the story!

Enjoy and be happy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
Gripping & intelligent brings all the strands together at a vigorous pace, the plots, schemes, double crosses and the unexpected ending explains the fact that once you start reading you don't want to put it down until the end. Hopefully the writer may revisit this universe while at his full power.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
An enjoyable read with some nice twists, I like that its not really clear who is the bad guys here.
The central characters are interesting and engaging; can be read alone but I would recommend reading the other two first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse