Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 July 2013
I enjoyed this book as I have enjoyed all of the Old Man's War series. But the nature of it was evident in that it was made up of 8 or 9 separate stories published separately and stitched together. Thus a bit sequential and "jerky". Sort of came to a slightly sudden ending suggesting more to come, which is again all right but unsatisfying somehow. Also it was an expensive Kindle buy at GBP 10.04 (which is not a reason to downgrade the stars but is worth noting).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2013
Love this book was bit unsure after some of the reviews but it was brilliantly funny and interesting read, the under current of the greater picture kept me actively looking for what was gonna come in the smaller more contained stories. Most of the stories were very interesting and well paced with great characters but once or twice they seemed a tad rushed to fit i assume into the original delivery methods but this did not distract for more than a few seconds. The smaller stories are not stand alone and dove tail very well together which i was surprised at given some comments i had read. In short if you loved the Old Mans War series there is no question you need to buy this and while it does not follow Perry or Sagan the characters are actually much more interesting and fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2018
I could not believe it when I stumbled across the new additions that Mr Scalzi has penned since Zoe's Tale. For some reason I thought that it had been the last ever book set in the OMW universe. I often wonder if John is as witty and dry as some of his characters as their sense of humour is often as entertaining as the clever sci-fi ideas employed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2016
This guy knows how to write; all these stories are well put together, and advance the Old Man's War storyline in such a way, it seems impossible to predict where the next book might take us. The Human Division mainly follows Harry Willson in some excellently diverse adventures set in the period just after the previous two books, and introducing us to some pleasingly rounded secondary characters. So with such praise, why have I only given it just 3 stars? A: It's a book of short stories, and unfortunately I have never felt a sense of complete involvement in any book made up of short stories, the problem is mine, not the authors. There were many of the stories, that I thought could have been linked and broadened in to a very decent novel, which I'm fairly sure would have me hitting the 5 star button.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2016
This one novel seems more like Scalzi is trying to prove he can write good novels without so much military action. He can, of course he can, his strong point are his characters and dialogs, not the shooting and exploding which are just icing on the cake. The story compilation aspect of the book does not help the overall enjoyment, but it is still a good read that allows to explore more of Scalzi's universe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 August 2014
Generally like Scalzi's work, and love the old mans war universe. However this book should be seen as a collection of short stories sharing some of the same characters rather than a Novel.
the characters are ok, but since it's generally short episodes it just feels like the characters go nowhere and it rolls out like a sitcom in space.

In short, this is most likely a setup for the next Old Mans War novel, and may be useful for background but not a novel in its own right.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2016
A perfect addition to the series. Witty and deadly serious at the same time. Excellent characters!
Looking forward to the next instalment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2016
great author, great book series. Cant recommend enough.
I purchased the whole series and it doesn't disappoint....more please!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2016
After Zoe's Tale I am glad to see a continuation of the story Perry started in earlier books. Fun characters and the development of Harry Wilson was great. It also left me wanting more and no clue about the antagonist. Can't wait for the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 June 2014
Loved this series. Drama, black humour, vivid action, realistic characters. Top notch sci fi in a fully realised universe. Can't wait for the next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse