Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2012
This was quite a good read.
It took me a while to work out if the book was meant for children or adults ... but there are parts in the story that sex is mentioned. Good for teenagers.
The characters are quite funny, not really much of a plot. But a good, light read if you fancy a book to make you chuckle a bit ... but that you dont have to think about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
I'm not one for writing reviews, this is my first, and probably last, but it seemed a crime to pass by a book i loved so much and leave it with no stars!
It funny fantasy with twists and turns about a carnivorous witch and her killer duck, you won't be disappointed if you fancy a supernatural rollercoaster ride! LOVED it!

Also, check out Gil's All Fright Diner by the same author, it has become one of my favourite books, and for that i'd give it 10 stars if i could, and because of my love of vampires, ghosts, werewolves, zombies and diners!! and the fact that it is also a wickedly funny read!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2011
If you have never tried A Lee Martinez, where have you been? His charracters are very well written and the plots tend to surprise. I have a few of his books now and not one of them is a dud! If you like Christopher Moore, Pratchett, Rankin you will like Martinez very much.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
One of the funniest books that I have read for some time. Definitely for adults, in no way is this a children's book. Extremely well written with a cast of delightful characters including talking animals and brooms, rivers, roads and such like as well as an intelligent and oh so gorgeous young witch. All combined to work towards defeating what we find out is a nasty sorcerer trying to take over the world. A great and delightful adventure story with a wondrous sense of humour. Along the lines of the great Douglas Adams with traces of Terry Pratchett thrown in. The first book I have read by A Lee Martinez but definitely not the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
This book is for the mature demographic that enjoy fantasy stories. The humor is great and makes you believe that the main character will complete her quest even when things look bad.

So if you love fiction with humor and a story about their adventure that is hard to put down then this is the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2012
loved it!
wasn't too sure when I saw a review saying it was good for teenagers (I'm 24) but I thought it was brilliant!
Made me laugh out loud a few times!
Gonna go look for some more by A. Lee Martinez!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2016
An easy and enjoyable read however the ending seemed a bit rushed. Not a lot more to say really. End.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2016
Love it! Read it 3 times now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.88
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here