Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2017
Book 4 of the Malazan book of the Fallen and it is yet another corker. I am running out of superlatives to describe this series: more new characters, more history, more gods, more heroes and villains and each character a real, independently developed individual.

Each strand exists separately and yet I know there is a grand construction being pulled together here, with as many new strands emerging as there are strands coming together to form the fabric of the series.

Details, descriptions, emotions: all are present in a novel you'd expect to be studied in an A Level class rather than a standard fantasy - heavy on action, light on literature. These tales are a pleasure to read and once more I highly recommend this book even as I race onto the next!

fleecy moss

Author of the sci-fi fantasy series Folio 55, Books 1 & 2 (End of a Girl, Undon), available now on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
Not sure why I keep going. Bit worried I will die before I finish the series. Too many characters with an intricate plot and totally incomprehensible magic based system, but......it certainly has something. Am sucked in and have to finish it now. This book about the same level of interest as the others. Love Toblakai!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Love this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2017
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2017
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
fantastic read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2017
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2017
Great storyline
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2003
This book truly is awesome, its exciting, fulfilling and keeps you on the edge of your seat right the way through to the end and beyond.
This book carries on from Deadhouse Gates, and writes about the rebellion aka "Sha'ik's Whirlind" that has sweeped across genabackis and how Adjunct Tavore (Ganoes Paran's sister) has been given the task of destroying the rebellion with a rag tag army of recruits.
We see the old characters from Deadhouse Gates in this book like, Fiddler, Kalam, Crokus, Apsalar and many more. Also what is interesting about this novel, is that it begins with the tale of a character who was barely even mentioned in Deadhouse Gates, this character is called Karsa a Toblakai who was first mentioned in the first few pages of Deadhouse Gates when the first sha'ik was assassinated by the Red Blades.
Anyway Karsa's story is set before any of the stories in the other novels took place, and tells us everything about him and the part he plays and still has to play in these truly amazing stories.
As usual Steven Erikson writes with a lot of detail which as usual compliments the story than hindering it and making it boring.
As you all will know the battles in his stories are extremely violent and grusomely detailed and this story is no exception, but I find this gives more realism to the story and the battles in general, and it makes the novels more exciting.
This novel will close a lot of doors from previous novels, but as with all of his novels they actually open more doors than they close, its this style of writing which keeps us waiting in agony for the next instalment, and making us frustrated that the books could end so soon when there is so much left to cover.
But over all it is another hit from perhaps THE BEST author of fantasy novels in this day and age, it's his attention to detail and his merciless imagination which sets him apart from most fantasy authors and puts him straight up in the big league with the likes of Tolkien.
I advise to anyone thinking of buying this novel to buy it over the net because i will tell you now you will not be able to find it in any high street retail shops, I spent ages looking for this novel, I even went to this giant book shop in Cambridge which had like four floors in it and they didnt even have it, they only had Memories Of Ice (what about the other novels, insult or what) in the end I had to order it over the net because I just couldnt find it anywhere. So avoid the hassel and just order it from Amazon.
But like I said this is a truly magnificent story from a highly under rated, and highly ignored MASTER of fantasy novels, who never seems to be given the light of day by anyone.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2012
Steven Erikson's series `the mazalan book of the fallen' has to be the most original, inspired creation within the fantasy genre that is comparable to the genius Kate Elliot or Terry Brooks. The striking, imaginative front covers capture readers' attention, especially
for those who love fantasy fiction most of all. The series begins with `gardens of the moon' followed then by `Deadhouse gates' and `memories of ice' with this volume as number four in an already epic saga. This author has so much creative imagination that
you cannot compare to any other writer, being full of compelling drama and thrilling action. What is so outstanding is how Steven Erikson draws upon our own history and myths & legends to create a masterpiece that is comparable to JRR Tolkien in its realism
as to be believable.

The rich, complex and original world that you explore is so breathtaking, I felt as if I was actually there. But it is the detail of its history and background knowledge that is so complex which makes it not just your average fantasy story but rather something much deeper on a vast scale. The mythic vision and the whole concept in its entirety is something to be marveled at, displaying how accomplished and talented a writer he is. Fast moving and full of suspense this tale will have you running along with it at tremendous speed, within an intricate and authentic world that is just as real as our own. Voyaging into the unknown where Demons lurk and Gods observe all, this book is like a chocolate box of delights with each one adding to a most wondrous phenomenon.

An absorbing magical experience here is a series that many readers will treasure and re-read for many years to come, that is totally matchless and distinctive. Whilst weaving your way through a complex labyrinth of an immense plot that is multi-layered, you cannot help but get lost within the saga and the pages of the book. If you want to read this particular genre at its very best, then I cannot enthuse enough about Steven Erikson's `the mazalan book of the fallen' series with House of Chains as my favorite book. It deserves huge praise and acclaim being totally incredible, that I urge you to discover if you have not already done so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse