Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
8
Beginning VB.NET (Programmer to Programmer)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£26.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 20 July 2008
It's hard to believe that this book comes from the publishing group as Beginning C# (Beginning Visual C# 2005), Beginning ASP.Net(Beginning ASP.NET 2.0 (Programmer to Programmer)), and Beginning SQL Server 2005 (Beginning SQL Server 2005 Programming (Programmer to Programmer)), because, unlike those books, it is appallingly bad.

This book is supposed to give new programmers an insight into object orientated programming using VB.Net 2005 as the language of choice.

If you go through it cover to cover, you will become very adept at following and copying programming examples based on someone else's work, and feel very good about yourself, until you try and knock out something yourself, at which point it will quickly become apparent that your knowledge of the concepts of OOP, and the fundamental operation of the .Net framework are nearly non-existent.

The book scratches the surface of what is a very powerful programming language, and essentially allows you to knock out a couple of flat form-based applications. It is fairly obvious that this book is designed to entice you to buy the subsequent books in the series by hinting at more "advanced" topics, while never really explaining them.

If you are an experienced Visual Basic programmer, then give this a miss. If you are a beginner to programming, and actually want to learn something about the .Net framework, either go with a different VB book, or buy the Wrox Beginning C# 2005 book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2013
This is a good quality item at a very good price, will without doubt be using this company again fit for purpose
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2004
I'm an experienced VB6 developer, so I skipped large sections of this book. It goes into examples of arrays, variables, conditions - the type of things I don't need to know about. Beginners certainly will find the book well structured with basic examples and clear explanations.
More experienced developers will skip large sections of it and use the examples to highlight differences between VB6 and VB.NET, but it possibly not the best tome for that.
There are a couple of small errors with some of the examples, but the publisher's website provides corrections.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2004
This is a great book for beginner programmers and intermediate programmers alike. I came from a VB6 world and have used this book it has taught me a lot. I would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to learn VB.NET..
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2002
This book attempts to teach you how to program, using Visual Basic.Net. I think it does a pretty good job of this, however it's not so useful if you are already a programmer/have used VB6. This wouldn't be a problem, only the book claims to be suitable if you 'have some experience with other versions of Visual Basic' - it isn't particularly, with the first half of it being orientated towards teaching concepts such as arrays and how they are used, how to write an algorithm for a program, how to use variables, etc. . . .
If you are new to programming and want to learn VB.Net, buy it, it's a fantastic introduction. If you are an experienced programmer looking to learn VB.Net, I'd recommend you go elsewhere (such as Core VB.Net reference by Balena).
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2006
This is a great book for learning VB2005. It goes through many lessons including writing a game for a handheld. I would recommend this to anyone learning VB2005 for the first time.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2006
Work your way through it quickly and you'll quickly be ready to learn more. Sure it gets a bit long winded and repetitive sometimes, but all beginners books do, and we beginners can choose how much of it to read.

Definately a beginners book, but as such, a good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)