Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
66
4.6 out of 5 stars


on 13 December 2016
Brilliant helped me in Bible dtudy came on tome in good condition. Thank you
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
Good money for its condition. Valuable reference book. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Incredibly interesting book. Worth reading even if you are an atheist. No bible-bashing. Just lots of facts, eg all the "begats" and explanation of contexts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2009
Do not be put off by the title,this is an interesting book for both long time Christians, new Christians and those who just have a general interest in the bible.It is clearly and interestingly written, amusing and yet contains good practical comments and advice.It summarises all the bible books as well as more detailed comments on topics and characters from both the old and new testaments and provides some good statistics on a range of subjects.Definitely worth a read and useful as a reference and resource book.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2017
I've had a few of the '... for Dummies' books, including one on Catholicism, which was reasonably engaging; and a 5 in 1 on German, which is incredibly useful and strikes the perfect balance between informal for beginners, and being useful as an academic tool. Unfortunately, this book, on an interesting and important topic, fails.

It tries too hard to be funny, jokey, and easy to understand, but in doing this is goes too far and loses bits of important information and the 'humour' the authors include becomes irritating by about page 30.

I'm not the intended target, I don't think. I've read a number of religious non-fiction books on all three Abrahamic religions, but especially on Judaism and Christianity; but I feel there is always more to be understood by reading introductory books. No book is too simple to be useful.

This book, however, is not very useful to those with even a basic understanding because it gives only the most cursory glance at different bits of the bible, and neglects to go a tiny bit further to actually explain the importance (the section on the Tower of Babel is a good example) and this refusal to spare another line or two leaves the reader with a poor, and sometimes incorrect understanding - God condemned the humans at Babel for trying to make a 'name' for themselves, but this means that they were trying to either make a god for themselves, or make themselves into gods. When you understand this interpretation, the story makes more sense that god getting angry about a tower and human cooperation.

Another example is the the paragraph about the twelves spies being sent to scope out the new land, and how they came back and lied about the size of the people there - it doesn't explain that they lied, or that their lying was why they were made to stay in the desert for a generation (aside from the two who told the truth, who were allowed to enter the holy land).

It also occasionally puts forward the Jewish understanding but with a Christian slant, which makes the book lose academic neutrality. Some of the Jewish views put forwards are not mainstream in Reform, Conservative, or Orthodox strands of thought. This bias comes forwards when a small mention is made about the Dome of the Rock, which is a holy site in Islam, but makes no mention of how the Temple ground it was built on (a common Islamic conquest practice) is the holiest site in Judaism, the equivalent of Medina and the Ka'aba.

Overall, I don't think this book makes a great introduction because of the highly informal tone that fills the pages with bad jokes and eye-rolling humour that distracts from the serious topics. It is also too brief in some areas where further explanations are necessary for proper understanding, and this lacks leaves the reader with distorted or partial understandings of the subject material.

However, the information on the New Testament was definitely better, but still plagued with irritating authorial comments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2005
Very helpful book for people wanting to start to look deeper into the Bible. This will never replace a set of good commentaries but it was never ment to. I have this book on my "often used" shelf above my desk. Fr. Gareth Bowen.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a more successful Dummies edition than I first thought it would be. To be read seriously the Bible has to be done so in parallel with a good commentary, and this book will not replace such commentaries but it is a very accessible and at times both enlightening and intriguing in it's observations and analysis. It's delivered in the usual Dummies style- lively text, plenty of highlighted key points etc and the narrative may at times get a little too chatty and jocular, but never too annoyingly so. All in all, an accessible, enjoyable and educational analysis of the Bible is offered, which may well interest- and accurately inform- people who wouldn't otherwise be so, which is no bad thing. Well worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 3 November 2016
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
As you would expect from this series of books 'The Bible for Dummies' is easy to understand and extremely thorough in what it covers.

If you have any interest at all in the Bible and all it contains, then this book is a must read for you … not to be read instead of the Bible (of course) but to be read as well as the Bible and other religious or faith books … reading about the Bible gives a much deeper understanding of the Bible.

Dummies books are one of my favourite range of books for learning about and understanding many different subjects. I love the layout of these books and the short chapters make for easy reading.

The main sections in this book are as follows:
1. What the Bible is All About
2. Exploring the Hebrew Bible - The Old Testament
3. Revealing the Bible's Hidden Treasures in the Apocrypha
4. Discovering What's New About the New Testament
5. That Was Then, This is Now: Discovering the Bible's Enduring Influence
6. The Part of Tens

There is so much information contained in this book in a perfectly accessible style, a dip in and dip out or you can follow the Bible from the beginning to the end. I am thoroughly enjoying my journey through the Bible using this book as my map and to give me fantastic insights into the people featured throughout the Bible, the places and the events.

I cannot recommend 'The Bible for Dummies' highly enough … it is a truly a wonderful experience reading this book and the research that has gone into this dummies guide is excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 October 2016
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Whereas the 'Dummies' series wouldn't be the first place I would look on the Bible, they seem to have made a really good job. The authors have written together (with others) previously and both seem to have an expertise in old testament theology.
This book is an overview, systematically commenting (in the usual witty style of the series) on each book of the Bible, highlighting key themes and giving explanation to the story and context. I imagine that this book is ideal for someone new to the Bible, and as it is written by people who have a pedigree, you will not find it upsetting anyone.
There is a section on the apocrypha and the simple overviews of the books are not only fair and accurate, but so witty you will probably collapse in laughter. The textual inserts in shaded boxes offer excellent insights into interesting questions that are relevant to the subjects covered.
The book finishes with sections on the Abrahamic religions, the Bible in the arts, Ten plus characters you need to know about in the Bible and ten holidays you have because of the Bible.
All in all it really is a good way to get to grips with the Bible.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 November 2016
Format: Paperback|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'm an irregular church goer who has owned a Bible most of my life but never read it, just the excepts at church readings. Because of this, and RE at school, I know lots of little bits of the Bible which amounts to not very much at all.
It is quite a tall order to sit and read the Bible from cover to cover especially if it is the beautifully worded King James VI version. I took The Bible for Dummies thinking this would be easier to go right through but I found myself, after reading how it all came about and from where, flicking through it alighting on things that piqued my interest. And I think that is a fine way to read it. I found it very interesting. It is filling in some of the many, many, many gaps in my knowledge and it is also, dare I say, really quite amusing, to the extent I keep doing that annoying thing - reading bits to people.
You do not have to be particularly religious, you do not have to be religious at all, to having an interest in finding out what it was all about. This book will enhance your knowledge and remind you of things you'd forgotten - I've heard that name who are they and what did they do, sort of stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse