Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle



on 13 July 2011
This could be regarded as a handy reference book for beginners or a useful reference for those involved in project management, qualified or otherwise. Most of us who work in or with teams are project managers of sorts and experienced practitioners will not find anything particularly new in this book. But its worth having beside your desk as a refresher when those old ideas need taking down and dusting. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 February 2006
This is a great book for anyone who wants to learn not only the basics of Project Management, but also wants to acquire a solid foundation in the subject.
However, at just under 400 pages, it is not exactly a rapid introduction to the subject - more a through one.
If you find yourself thrust into the role of PM, at no notice, and with no experience - a not exactly unheard of senario - this book is too comprehensive, and you'll find it almost impossible to find the 30 pages that you need if you have to hit the ground running within 24 hours. Should you be in this unfortunate situation, a thick skin and a brazen attitude of confidence will probably be more useful.
Even so, this book would still be a good investment, as it contains a concise guide to the essentials of the job, and would provide a solid platform of information to work from.
It could be argued that it omits "state of the art" techniques, but since these fall in and out of fashion at least twice a year, anyone who puts into practice the nuggets of guidance contained in this book, on a consistent basis, is virtually assured of a successful result.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2014
Present for someone, they said it was the business!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2001
I have been a project manager for more than seven years, and have been lucky enough to receive some of the best project management training available, including some qualifications on the way. The Project Managment for dummies book is a rare combination of a book. It not only describes a project management method, (a WHAT to do), but also includes experience and tips from a very good project manager (a HOW to do it). The combination of what and how will guide even the most inexperienced to a successful project delivery. I bought this book with the intention of handing it to one of the less experienced project managers working with me, but I've decided to keep it for myself! Paul (Leeds)
0Comment| 198 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 January 2006
I have just finished managing a nine month project and being a fan of the "Dummies" books bought this for some help as to right proven methods and strategies. The book was largely unread or worse still used as the project developed since it ultimately provided little I could use.
This is because it has a very micro almost military approach to the subject. If you are into detailed planning, cost control and time management aspects and have lots of time to record and track the project in detail this approach is great. However as I was forced to learn early on it will not help you to be pragmatic and accept you cannot control all events as they unfold.
For the multi faceted project and the professional services environment I had to operate in the smaller and more practical "Project management Pocketbook" by Posner & Applegarth proved to be my lifesaver.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2003
I bought this book on the recommendation of one of the earlier reviews, and I have to agree, it is a book I woudl recommend to any one in project management.
Its clear concise, and covers the major processes and topics in enough detail to be able to understand what project managment is, how to do it, and how not to fail
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2010
Bought this when I was looking for ideas for training exercises. Uses lots of words however, it is easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2011
Have had the paper version for a while and wanted the electronic version - so bought it for the kindle.

I'm a dummy and it works for me. Happy to have made the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here