Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
26
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 16 August 2017
This is a very good book. Although I warn you the jokes in it are terrible. Yes very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2017
A great book-beautifully written!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Great thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Swift, efficient service from seller. Book excellent - can't recommend highly enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Great place to start learning about classical music. And very funny too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2002
I got this book a few years ago, as I knew that I liked some kinds of classical music, but otherwise I didn't have the faintest idea! It helped me understand which musical styles/composers I liked the most (thanks to the CD included), and motivated me to explore classical music further. It is written in an amusing and accessible manner that is perfect for absolute beginners. I do not complain about the lack of depth, as it is meant to be an introductory book. Very enjoyable!
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2006
Even if you know something about classical music (eg the difference between classical and baroque), this book can be incredibly helpful. The CD contains some very good examples of genres, and the highly detailed exposition in the book of what's going on with each piece (including in some cases a second-by-second explanation) helps understand how a particular effect is achieved, or what was aimed at - it's almost like someone sitting down with the score and talking you through it.
Stylistically, the chummy, slightly 'wacky' tone can be offputting in the earlier chapters, but it's obvious that the authors really do know (and love) their stuff. If you can get past that, the historical, explanatory, and musical sections really are worthwhile.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 31 May 2008
Published in 1997, with a few updates since which include a new cover photo and a website launch (dummies.com) this 358 page book follows the many other titles in the `For Dummies' range in that it makes learning an entertaining experience.

Classical music can be a turn off for many, with confusing terms, strange descriptions and an often reluctance to make itself accessible to the casual visitor to its world, so a book like this is a welcome one to break down those barriers which prevent an understanding of it.

The underlying tactic of authors David Pogue and Scott Speck is to lighten up the subject with funny quips and interesting facts which continually embellish the factual information. For me, this approach makes for easy reading which informs without becoming a lecturing textbook. Some may find the many comical references to frequent, but on the whole they are genuinely funny, and there are after all many, many other books on the subject which are devoid of humour.

The book's 17 chapters include titles such as, `What Is Classical Music', `The Entire History of Music in 80 pages', `How to Spot a Sonata' (an explanation of terms like symphony, concerto and sonata), A Field Guide to the Orchestra (explaining the instruments), `The dreaded Music Theory Chapter' (music theory in easy terms) and `Starting a Classical Music Collection' (how and where best to buy the recordings).

The only slight disappointment, partly forgivable maybe because the authors are American, is the lack of even a mention of two of England's finest composers Edward Elgar and Ralph Vaughan Williams, but it's no reason not to enjoy this highly entertaining, well written book (and it does come with a free CD too).
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 August 2013
If you want to educate yourself on classical music and are serious about it then stay well away from this book.

To begin with the book has , as far as I know, the worse history of music ever written. Pogue's and Speck's views on history of music are arrogant, mean spirited, prejudiced, misleading and extremely dumbed down.

I always liked classical music but, in the last years, I decided to educate myself on classical music and started to read about it, to compare and select performances etc. I ordered this book after a quick "look inside". It was a mistake. I traded the book for £1.10 on Amazon UK, more than this book is worth

The first thing I check when I read about history of music is what the author has to say about Wagner. It always give me a good idea of how good the book is.

The authors say that Wagner was an "arrogant, dishonest, jealous, hypocritical, racist, sexist scumbag". ( page 56 ). I was shocked by the mediocrity, cowardice and hypocrisy of Pogue and Speck.

They even write a justification for having Wagner in the book as they obviously considered not even including Wagner in the 80 pages of the book dedicated to history of music.
This is what they wrote: " We included Wagner in this particular opus, however, for three reasons".

I would like to see Pogue and Specks calling sexist or racist some extremely popular Reggae and Hip Hop singers . Say, after listening to songs preaching the killing of homosexuals or calling women "bitches". To call a woman a "bitch" is worse
than anything that Wagner ever said about women but Pogue and Speck would never dare to criticise in public hip hop singers as they criticised Wagner. It is a sign of their cowardice, their mediocrity.

I think the best way to show the real face of Pogue and Speck is to compare what
they wrote about Wagner with what other authors wrote. Let's see:

The A-Z of Classic FM music, by Henley and Lihoreau on page 163 : "...he possessed deeply unpleasant views and was racist, egotistical and often completely amoral. But, unpalatable though such views were and are, there is no gainsaying the undeniable beauty , power and sheer grandeur of his best work".

This book will mislead uninitiated people who are trying to know more about classical music. They don't mention, for example, how the Lutheran Church was absolutely central in Bach's life and work. Maybe because any Christian religion is politically incorrect?

When they describe Beethoven (BAY-toe-ven. The dumbing down of this book goes to the length of teaching how to pronounce Beethoven's name )
they mentioned how his "fiery personality got him in fights with his landlords and girlfriends". What girlfriends?

And, about fighting with landlords because of his "fiery personality": Was Bach a "fiery" man too? He was in constant rows with Leipzig City Council on wages and other matters and he even got involved in a street fight because he criticised a singer.

They say that Beethoven's letter about going deaf was "pathetic and courageous". Pathetic? Really? The letter is described by John Suchet, who wrote several books about Beethoven, as "poignant". A word far more appropriate than "pathetic".
Pathetic? The guy was going deaf in a time when medicine was pretty much impotent to deal with most serious health matters. It wasn't only going death, I am sure. It was also the idea that he didn't know what was going on, why he was going deaf and if there was any way to stop or slow the process down.

They criticised New York's ruthlessness but they don't seem to be any better when they decided that Beethoven's letter was pathetic. No wonder that their advice on concert manners is so idiotic. Go there and applaud between movements. The two stooges write about "the insane no clap policy".

Unless you are in a film festival, the audience will not clap during a film. That never stopped people of enjoying cinema. But the authors think that the lack of claps is one of the reasons why classical music is not so popular as it was in the past.

Authoritarianism and a deep anti democratic spirit is typical from politically correct minds, such as the authors of this book. They pretend to be civilised, modern, progressive and so on but they are really small time dictators who would like to erase from history of the the most influential names of classical music and consider "insane" anyone who doesn't agree with their dumbed down view of how to behave in a concert. They say that classical music was, in the past, like rock concerts today. This is one of the most misleading statements of this book and shows frames of mind that favour sameness instead of diversity.

The book has, besides its pedestrian history of music and its awful guide of how to behave in a concert, whole sections about musical theory, instruments and so on. My problem there is that, after seeing what they did with music history, I don't trust them and have no interest in reading any further.

If you are trying to educate yourself on classical music and want serious, open minded books then I would suggest the following:

The Oxford History of Western Music - College Edition - by Richard Taruskin and Christopher Gibbs . 1200 pages.

Listening to Music, by Craig Wright 7th edition. Here, it is very important that you get the seventh edition because it is easy to find and order the cds that accompany the book.

The A-Z of Classic FM, by Darren Henley and Tim Lihoreau
44 Comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
A bit too American for my taste
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)