Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2010
If you are just starting out on the Prep. band wagon then this book will cover, in detail, most of what you want to know.

It is not full to the gills with information but it runs close. It allows you to help yourselves by using this book as a tool rather than a coffee table read. If you could get it in hardback then that would be better still.

The book at the rear has hints and recipies for the stuff you will need to cook with. It has lists galore that you add to, so to keep it clean you will soon be transfering the details over to a spreadsheet on the pc to simplify things.

It covers most things you need to get moving. It wont cover farming, as it is not that kind of book. The idea is to set you up for the long term haul. The author, Peggy Layton, is from the US, and it is so much easier for those across the pond to do as she is suggesting. Here in the UK we have to do our homework for those suplies that she is reommending. But not impossable, and now much easier to do with this book.

In a nutshell its about storage of the foods and liquids, and how to go about keeping them stable.

It covers a simple 72 hr kit bag too.

It does not cover all things, like how to cook using a dutch oven in full, but even it tells you that cooking in one of those is an art in itself, and for that you need to buy a book to do it justice. So the book has its limitations, but you are lft knowing what they are and where to go from here.

Get it. Worth evey penny.

Tom.
22 Comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
Very pleased with this purchase! Something a friend said got me thinking - what if the electricity grid was ever knocked out, would the human race be able to survive??? Well in reality the only ones that would, might be the indiginous tribes that live off the land. Anyway, I decided to have a little read up on things and put together a vague plan of action!!! A bit "Americanised" at points, but altogether a sensible read.... and food for thought!!! If I never need to use this book, then it is something I will pass down to my children, cos as every good girl guide and brownie knows, it's always best to be prepared!!! ;-)
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
A very useful book on how to organize your food cupboard so natural disasters don't catch you out. Also useful if you forget to buy items from the shop, you already have them. A worthwhile read particularly if you fear the worst.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2012
I was really excited about this book having read the description and the reviews. They is nothing in this book that is helpful or any different that you can find on the Internet for free from sites such as foodstoragemadeeasy.net

As a previous review stated it is extremely basic and in parts is more like a cookery book, and there is nothing in this short book that seems to cover survival as the tiitle misleads?

Check out survival mom instead and don't waste your money
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2010
This is a little on the light weight side when it comes to meaningful usefullness... A lot of the information is basic.
OK to give to someone who is very young for information.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
Excellent book if you are planning on bugging in or homesteading. Real practical ideas and a good book to have on anyone's shelf during an emergency situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Not what I excepted but will do arrived a bit late but still happy some useful information in it thought maybe more picture diagrams Inside but more Reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
This book promised a lot more than it delivered. It is basically a housewife's guide to making sure you have enough food and water in the larder in case there is a power cut or similar 'disaster' lasting up to 72 hours.

The first 100 or so pages contain useful information about food and water and how to store them etc. The next 70 pages or so contain blank template lists for you to enter information such as food plans and recipes - a total waste of paper. The last 1/3 of the book contains recipes for cooking the stored food e.g. take some pasta and simmer it for x minutes etc.

I bought it as a present and I almost feel ashamed to give it as I know it will more than likely be looked at a few times and either consigned to a dusty shelf of chucked away.

OK for someone who is totally clueless and impractical. Almost pointless for anyone with basic common sense who was either a boy scout or girl guide.

Measurements are US imperial i.e. quarts, pints, gallons etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2015
Excellent book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
its great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)