Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
58
4 star
12
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 October 2011
This book opens your eyes to how animals can be incredibly emotional and socially accepting of one another in unforseen circumstances. It is a beautiful book which will have you going 'aaah how sweet', 'ooh thats cute' throughout. A mismatch of animals finding a friendship bond, despite breed, creed, colour or race. Great photos, some unbelievable - a lion, tiger and bear together as friends, really? Well written stories which will warm your heart.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
...and certainly no barriers as superficial as species! Very beautiful book, with many photos of tender moments between animals you'd not think to see together. Many of the stories are actually moving. Amazing animals.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
Was given this book while i wasn't well and it was the first thing i felt up to reading as it is full of short,individual tales of unusual,animal friendships-[as i had a very short attention span also at the time it was perfect.]As i recovered and could read more i found that it was even more enjoyable and i was able to recommend it.If you love animals you should love this book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I saw a photo from this book, of a gorilla cuddling her pet cat, in a newspaper and bought it on the strength of that. If you know any sensitive soul who is an animal lover and a bit down, then this is the book that might make them smile. It is not sickly, it does not attribute human emotions to animals, just reports how animals alone under pressure sometimes cross species barriers in their need for companionship. What most interests me is that the chosen "friend" from another species for whatever reason allows and appears to enjoy that relationship. Truly, there is more to "dumb" animals than our human species chooses to recognise.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This isn't a book about chance encounters, nor is it clogged with photoshopped or otherwise accidental photographs. This book describes real friendships between unlikely animals, with an explanation of the parenting instinct or of the need for companionship and how it plays out for them.
The photography is beautiful - use it as a coffee table book. The writing is excellent - use it for inspiration when you are feeling let down by your friends or when you care about someone far away. And give it as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
This is a very welcome gift for anyone who likes animals. Kids and mature adults enjoy it equally. After reading the whole book, I thought "Why can't we all get along like these animals?" A delightful, heart-warming read!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2015
A must for any animal lover, well written and photographed, showing unusual caring and even loving relationships between different animal species. Definitely having the "coooo" factor. A very pleasant change from the usual nature/animal type of books and can be dipped into or read right through from start to finish. You'll want to look at it over and again. Nothing sad or bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2013
A collection of stories about oddball animal friendships, documented with great photos. Among the 47 cases of strange affection, we have a cow snuggling with a wild leopard, a cat with an iguana, sled dog with polar bear, or a cat serving as a seeing-eye guide for a blind dog. This could be a bunch of silly anecdotes, but the collection shows that even fish, birds, and reptiles have quirks of personality that can override instinct, allowing for long-term friendly relations that break every mold. These friendships are like mutations in emotional possibility, which can lead to new social patterns among beasts and people. I suspect our first domestications of animals arose from such oddball friendships between species, which became learned behavior for the future generations of those concerned.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2013
I bought this book awhile ago and simply couldn't put it down. I found myself reciting the stories to anyone that would listen as some would take your breath away. You simply don't realise how incredible some things that happen in this world are and a lovely taste of that can be found in this very book.

Most stories are simply bizarre and so heart warming however there are a few upsetting cases where a friendship may end in illness or death. Just be aware of this if you are particularly sensitive. The nature of the book is not to draw attention to these nor does it contain detail or distressing images so it is not so much a worry, just worth a mention.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would certainly suggest it to any animal lovers out there!

Feel free to ask me any questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
I got this as a gift for my Mum who is an animal lover. She seems very happy with it. I had a quick flick through before giving it to her. It is filled with lovely pictures and heart warming stories. X
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)