Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 June 2017
I would recommend this book to beginners or those just looking for more reading material on magic. A good basis for some techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
I was very pleased to get my hands on this book. I am a magician and I can honestly say is well worth buying. Keep up the good work Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Really detailed and easy to follow. Well recommended if you are starting out. Great photo explanation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
Great for beginners and intermediates plus DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
This is a first class introductory book for learning to be a proficient magician. In fact those who have been performing magic for some time will benefit from some of the ideas and routines described. With the added bonus of a DVD to assist the learning process this has to be one of the best value for money bargains I have experienced for a long time.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2011
Hello,

I recently bought Magic: The Complete Course Book and DVD,
I have alawys been a big fan of magic and wanted to learn more and more of it and so over the past 3 years i have bought many kits and books and needless to say this is by FAR the best one out there.

A few weeks before buying this I bought The Royal Road To Card Magic for four different reasons:

1) I am a HUGE fan of card magic, it's my favourite type of magic to do as all you need is a deck of cards and a person, Simples :)

2) It is the top purchased magic book on Amazon.co.uk

3) The review were good.

4) It was cheap!

Overall....
A BIG MISTAKE!
(For more info on why see my review on that book)

So long story short this book may be double the price of The royal road to card magic, but for the extra money you do get:

- A DVD

- A large variety of different tricks

- Full colour pictures on how to do the tricks

- Easily explained tricks

- (in my case) The best card tricks.

- So, for just over £10 it is very cheap!

Before buying this book i read the reviews and one reviewer stated that 'THIS BOOK SHOULD BE BANNED'
and i agree with him, It is THAT good, there should only be 10 copies of this printed and all should be hidden in secret magic shops, above a Bar/Pub, down dark alley way somewhere, and should only open during the late hours of the night!
Ok, a may be getting a bit carried away with this review,
But really, stop reading this review, just go BUY THE BOOK!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
nice read...only because its my bag.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
Most kids magic sets are cheap junk which most of us have seen time and time again. This is on a whole new level as it is a colourful book and comprehensive DVD course on how to do professional magic tricks. My daughter (who is 9) has been impressing family and friends who are still left wondering "How did she do that". Her only complaint is that Joshua Jay seems to assume that it will be boys doing the magic tricks!

Some of the tricks are quite straightforward, some involve some practise, others need a lot of practise. But the book sets out a grading system to show this, so you know where to start.

To do all the tricks will require some special props, most of these can be found on the internet or if you are lucky enough to have a local magic shop I'm sure they can help.

In conclusion, this is a great place to start for anyone serious about magic, and it felt like money well spent rather than wasted.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2009
OK - This book should be banned from sale on amazon.
YES - banned.

Why - simply this book should only be sold in magic shops - its price tripled and then put in a corner behind all the other books.

This is a fantastic book - I just hope not too many non magicians buy it at this price. If they do it will provide an extremely good primer with the DVD showing what can be done with simple tricks with the right presentation. (Not all the tricks are simple).

Joshua Jay is a superb magician as seen in his videos done for the magic fraternity.

If you are just starting out in magic this is an excellent starting point - also get Mark Wilson's "Complete Course in Magic". With the 2 you will have enough magic to last a long time untill the bug really bites.

(When it does you can end up spending spending and spending - 200 plus books bought at the moment)

So get your magic while its still cheap and and such a high quality product.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)