Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 July 2007
A great book for background information on car body painting. Very high quality COLOUR illustrations. Only backside is the american bias on products and cars ;-( - seen from an european point of view... But very informative and clear in text and layout.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2010
Bought This book to get some insight to preping of vehicles, and what's required. Also to help with some smaller projects like bicycle frames.
The book gives more than enough detail for this, all the way upto painting the entire car, although not sure i would paint a whole car myself.
Well worth a read saved me and my painter lots of hassle, and also me some money, and helped get the project finished better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2012
I wanted a book that would give me the information I needed to paint my car with some degree of success. I find the terminology and the changes in paint very confusing. My car is old, with lots of different paint on it, with varying degrees of panel repair to be done before painting. This book is American and some of the information contained is not that relevant and some of the terminology actually added to my confusion at the first read. But once I got past that I found that with each thumb through I became a little clearer on the process I would need to adopt to paint my car, i was able to pull from each of the sections the steps applicable to my process and the results that I want to achieve.

this is my only car painting book so I cant say if its better or worse than any other, but I can say its a very well thumbed read and has provided me with a lot of information which has allowed me to develop a clear process for painting my car.

I hope this review helps.
Banger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2011
I bought it togethere with "The complete guide to Auto body repair" and I found it quite a complete guide. Maybe the most complete guide you can find.

The only thing you can not get from the book is how hard could it be to actually practice what they write. You must in fact go and try them yourself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2011
Very thorough description of all the steps you have to do to paint a car. It starts with materials and equipment, goes through all stages of preparations and mentions special paint jobs (like paintbrush...) in the end. It is written for hobbyists in a form of "all you need to know". Good book...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
More long winded than it needs to be. Doesn't mention cellulose paints. Otherwise all good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2013
Very comprehensive book. Just what I had hoped for for the restoration work I am currently doing on a classic motorcycle.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Excellent quality book. Answers all the questions I had on my mind and others I had yet to consider. I hoped it would cover rust prevention and cure. It does ... but goes much deeper in pre-paint preparation. It also discusses the type of painting equipment required and their correct use. This is a lot of book for little money. Beautifully presented, printed, many colour illustrations, and superbly made. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
Another quality motorbook publication. Loads of tricks and tips and once you have the wherewithal to convert from US measurements and products to those appropriate to your area, it's an absolute gold mine. Excellent photos and descriptions including tools, setting up, prepping and techniques.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
hi, this is a gift for my husband, he has had a quick look at the book but has not had time to read it properly, but he said it was interested the bits that he fliked through!! it is going to help a lot!!! thanku.....xxxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)