Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Learn more



on 2 January 2012
I'm a child of the sixties, and for me the sixties with Jimmy and Graham and Jackie and unsponsored cigar shaped cars will be the pinnacle of Formula 1. The Master Klemantaski images are works of art that capture the beauty of this era before extreme aerodynamics, sponsorship, and neutered tracks became the norm. The coverage of the 50's falls into much the same vein, but somehow the delicate cars of the sixties are the ones that do it for me. The memories of those that were there and survived to tell the tale are equally fascinating. Needless to say, image quality and selection is superb. Class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 June 2011
Excellent coffee table book, fairly large, needs a table to rest it on, but content is a must for all motor racing followers of the early days of Grand Prix racing.
Many previously unseen photographs of circuits, drivers and cars.
I would recommend this to young and old alike.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 September 2011
This nicely produced book appealed to me as I took part in the racing in a very small way as a course, and later as a flag, marshal at some of the races shown. Access to the cars and drivers was much easier then and this collection brings back some very happy memories of time spent in the paddock rubbing shoulders with the great and not so great.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 January 2014
Bought it for my father for his 83rd birthday. He saw the people pictured and took many pictures of his own so it was an instant hit. He couldn't put it down until he had to drive home. The next day my mothers sister and her husband came round. He saw the book, looked at a few pages and asked if he could borrow it. An instant hit for motor racing fans of an age when the drivers were not sure if the car would stay on the tracks...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2017
Fabulous book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2015
a must for F1 Fans
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2014
Stunning photos from the era when photographers needed to make every shot count.
This book is a delight to pick up and step back in time whenever the mood takes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 April 2011
I have been following the Grand Prix circuit for some 44 years now, and I have a number of photos books on the subject. One wouldn't think that another photo book like this would be able to add anything new to the topic, and you'd be wrong!

Obviously, Louis Klemantaski took a lot of photos, because with very rare exception, ALL of these images are new to me, and they speak volumes about Grand Prix racing in the classic but dangerous '50s and '60s. The book is laid out like a race, with each chapter covering scenes from the same part of a typical GP meeting. The captions are generally quite thorough, though I've found a couple which neglect to mention the race in question! This is interspersed with paragraphs spoken by some of the great drivers, such as Moss, Brabham, Surtees and Stewart.

One unique spread from Aintree in 1957 shows the driving styles of eight different drivers taken at the same corner. Another shows the harrowed faces of race winners in events at which a teammate lost his life. And an appendix lists Klemantaski's numbers for each photo in the book, in the event that the reader wants to order a larger print. There is also a complete listing of every race, make and person for which there is at least one photo.

This is a heavy book that is not to be rushed through. Savor its content in small chunks and you will gain even more appreciation for the men who raced when the major achievement was in glory rather than money. Even if, like myself, you have other photo books on GP racing from this period, buy this one; at the price it is fantastic value, and worth every penny.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2011
Product arrived in poor condition which was a shame as it was for a birthday present. The corners of the book were scuffed and the cover was crumpled. The book itself has some interesting photographs, great for an enthusiast but I would think twice before buying this kind of thing online in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)