Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
19
Motorcycle Electrical Systems: Troubleshooting and Repair (Motorbooks Workshop)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

VINE VOICEon 23 March 2013
Firstly, it must be pointed out that this book is generic and should be used alongside your workshop manual. However, it comprehensively takes you around motorbike circuitry, with the aid of diagrams, making it a most understandable book on motorcycle electrical systems and really useful if you are engaged on a bike re-build. Personally, the electrical system is something that I have always been nervous about tackling, but this book makes the idea seem possible and a workable option. It advises on tools and equipment and how to use them, covers all aspects of electrical systems including electronic fuel injection and has a section for troubleshooting electrical faults. Simple diagrams and good photography, makes this well produced book a good addition to the workshop manual: recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2009
Brilliant book. Clear explanations and easy to understand with usefull troubleshooting advice. There is only the Haynes Tech book covering this subject that I know of and while this does not go as in depte as the Haynes book I would say that it is easier to understand for the average non tech person. Both books are very good but I now think I would buy this one first and then the Haynes book if I wanted to go that little bit further into the subject. Buy it I dont think you will be disapointed.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 May 2009
A good buy for the beginner, but I would use this in conjunction with your own bike's manual, and also the Haynes Basics Techbook, and/or Workshop Practice / Electrics Techbooks. This is very clear to start with, and it's good to have simple instructions on using a multimeter to test voltage. This book assumes you have a modern bike, it starts with DC 12v electrics and uses as an example testing a malfunctioning starter motor. If you have an old / classic 6v bike with direct lighting, you won't find the answers here. Certainly worth buying, but not on its own.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2011
How to get to the heart of the problem with clear and simple explanations (I read it from cover to cover over 2 evenings) - sounds trite but anyone with a little bit of mechanical savvy, this book and a few bits of inexpensive (you can pay more if you want to....) test equipment should be able to diagnose most of what could go wrong electrically on a bike (or indeed satisfy themselves that things are working as they should be). Great book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2009
This works well as an introduction to MC electrics and certainly helped me with fault finding on my bike.
If you want an in depth explanation of how all bike systems work then this is not it, but it does give some good tips on finding faults and giving a brief guide to starting and charging systems etc.
This is certainly a good book for the beginner or somebody looking to cure a fault on there own bike.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2013
Has some really useful guidance and is well put together. It explains each of the bikes electrical systems / components and guides you through fault finding techniques. Have already recommended it to a colleague at work and he's bought one and fixed his charging issue. Great reference book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 December 2013
I`ve had various books on electrics over the years all full of unfathomable blurb. This author cuts straight through all that and gets right to the tests you need to do and how it works in laymen's terms. I have had so many ohhhhh, that's how it works! moments :)
Worth every penny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2013
great book if doing level 2 or level 3 city and guilds m/c repair
also good for someone wanting to reapair their own bike
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2013
well written and illustrated.. my bike really deserves a book like this. The best book I have found so far. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2015
Very useful. Staff have used this with Level 1 & 2 MotorCycle Maintenance groups on IMIAL courses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)