Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
320
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2003
If you already own a copy of Artemis Fowl don't be fooled into think this is a different book - its a reprint.
On the other hand if you don't own a copy its a must have. A clever story with enough twists to keep anyone entertained. Artemis uses his intelligence to outwit a legion of fairies but manages to capture something more precious than fairy gold in the end.
0Comment| 200 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2003
As a Harry Potter grown-up reader, I've grown used to criticism in the lines of the recent Byatt review. But I do think that there is a lot of comfort and interest in reading children's books in adulthood. It was lovely reading Artemis Fowl. The ingenuity of the literal and technological inventions of the writer was refreshing. The main characters enjoyable and believeable, though a bit Hollywood-streotyped. Self-humour and well-built suspense add to the fun. It was nice to see a children's author choosing characters that are different shades of grey, as in real life, and not all black and white. All in all, for a bit of good, soul-cleansing escapism, a very recommended read!
22 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2003
This is not a new Artemis Fowl title but a new hardback edition by a different publisher - if you already have the first Artemis Fowl then this book is not for you
0Comment| 124 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2005
i thought this book was the best i ever read. i enjoyed it because it is a fantasy and it is very exiting all the way through.
it is about a 12 year old anti hero who sets out with evil intetions and ends up a better person. thanks to the help of captain holly short and his body gaurd butler.
i would recomend this book to anyone who can read as it is fantastic.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2008
Another highly successful collection of books that give a new twist to faeries and all things mythical. Except unlike so many others of its kind, this book focuses upon the rather unlikely and unsavoury young aristocrat criminal mastermind, Artemis Fowl. On a quest to steal leprechaun gold, he holds a young faery to ransom but gets more than he bargains for as the winged equivalent of the SAS storm his plush mansion.

Eoin Colfer's genius in this series of books is injecting a somewhat tired premise with a new twist. Particularly with this first novel of the long-running series, the reader is given plenty to think about as faeries have jet-propelled wings and mythical creatures are given a gritty and very tangible edge.

There is no doubt that many more readers of various ages will enjoy Artemis Fowl, and like the other modern heavyweights such as Harry Potter, Colfer's books can quite easily be enjoyed by readers of all ages. However, in a school setting the book is most likely aimed for a gifted Year 4 reader and up. Regarding curriculum links, there is potential for some extravagant and rather ambitious science and maths lessons that can link with events in the book.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2001
Having read the majority of reviews on this book people either seem to love it or hate it - there aren't many "in-betweenies!!"
Artemis Fowl is an unusual book from the point of view that Artemis is the bad guy rather than the Hero. I had heard all the hype too and thought that the book would be disappointing. Was pleasantly surprised to find that this was not the case. The lengthy descriptions we find in the Harry Potter series are not there and the fairy "world" is not as intricately described but the characters do actually all have "character". Each individual has their own personality and it is this, and the banter exchanged between them, that makes this book.
I really enjoyed Artemis Fowl and I don't think it's fair to compare it to Harry Potter simply because it has fantasy elements to it. Artemis will appeal to a teenage audience and I think boys in particular will enjoy it. This book was written with an audience of children in mind - it is not a difficult read and although it may not have the cult appeal amongst adults that Harry Potter has achieved, it will certainly be welcomed amongst children.
Remember this is not another Harry Potter - it is another fantasy story. So whether you like Harry or not, you should try to read this book without any preconceived ideas about it - you might just like it!!!
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2003
Hey there!!!!! If you don't know if you should buy Artemis Fowl, well, I reccomend you to. It is one of the best books I have read. I liked it even better than Harry Potter, aand that is saying much. Artemis is a genius boy that, aided by his bodyguard, Butler, decides to aabdduct a fairy and hold him for ransom. What he doesn't expect is that the fairy turns out to be a girl. Not a submissive one, really, and she makes Artemis' plan much more complicated.
Artemis Fowl is for open-minded people, who don't mind technology, fantasy and humor blended together making a delicious mix.
In other words, Artemis Fowl is the best fantastic book from moddern times. Don't hesitate. Buy it now. Trust me.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2001
This is a book which at first glance seems to be aimed at a childrens market. Unlike the other great adult/childrens book hero, Harry Potter, the hero of this story does not pass himself off as a "goody". His bag is crime and he follows his forefathers in this endeavour, However, he does aspire to be a master criminal on a scale not seen before and utilises magic and the latest in computerism and technology in his search.
Once started this book is hard to put down as the desire to see where the plot twists and turns to next will keep readers up late and red eyed next day.
This is a sort of modern day "cowboy" book with well defined goodies and baddies and a hero (without a white hat) who is not exactly what he tries to come across as.
'Artemis Fowl' is a novel that should be sought out by anyone who enjoys a good yarn and the sequel is be eagerly awaited.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2001
Having read the Harry Potter series far too many times (about 8 times in sequence, and I've read book 4 at least 15 times on its own), I was getting desperate to find a book as engaging and original - I tried reading everything from Macbeth to Death of A Naturalist - nothing worked. I'd heard a great deal of hype surrounding 'Artemis Fowl', but I thought it might be worthwhile giving it a look (after all, before I began reading them, I dismissed the Harry Potter books because of hype). I bought the book and was stunned. It was absolutely brilliant - not the greatest work of literature, of course, but an engaging, original exciting and very funny read. I believe Colfer described it as 'Die Hard with fairies' - that it certainly is - never before had i imagined a fairy with an automatic weapon! Unfortunately, many people seem to have negative views of the book - perhaps because it was hailed as 'the next Harry Potter' by many critics. While the book it as good, if not better, than the HP series, it could not be more different. Artemis is far from Harry - he is a criminal for one, and if comparisons must be made, he is far more like Draco Malfoy. Whatever you've heard about this book, try reading it anyway - as a Harry Potter fan, it saved me from the insanity of waiting for book 5. Oh yes - and an added bit of fun is translating the story along the book's bottom - I learned the code in 5 minutes - and then enjoyed hearing the prophecies of Ohm Phlegm, pot cleaner.
Give it a read - I recommend this book to everyone with an open mind!
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2001
Don't expect a simple kids books Eoin Colfer delivers something wickedly enjoyable for children and their parents. A great storyline pared down to the bone with no surplus fat (unlike 500 page Harry Potter books!), this is a great funny and pacy read, full of superb ideas and great set pieces, such as the descriptions of the fairies riding the hot magma currents to the surface. The detail is rich, the gadgets incredible and the action quite violent and gory in places. Defintely one for less sensitive kids!
The movie should be terrific - I can see Cameron Diaz as Captain Holly Short, the plucky heroine. The Troll should be awesome and scary on the big screen. This is such a good read and a real treat. Don't miss out,buy it!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse