Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
33
4.0 out of 5 stars
Blood Price
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 23 January 2011
Written in 1991 and 1992 respectively,I was drawn to this anthology because of the authors sterling reputation & it's cheaper than buying two books.
Somehow Tanya Huff's books have fallen through my reading net. I had no expectations, but was really surprised how well the character's Henry, Mike, & Vicki are crafted, not to mention the supporting character's too, all individual all play in your head like a cinematic film.
Vicky's character is real & in someways sad, her relationship with Mike is truly vitrolic at times, but you can sense deep love & companionship below the adversarial frustration, neither wanting to give an inch. Henry although pretty vulnerable & insecure, is still a predator, his eye on survival in the 21st century.
Blood Price is a great introduction to a six set series, containing dark magic, demons & action.
It's a race against time,the newspapers think the murders are vamparic, Henry doesn't like that, it's hard enough surviving as it is without 'Vampire' being spread all over the newspaper pages. Henry, Mike & Vicky need to catch the miscreant before an insidious evil is let out of it's cage....
Blood Trail has Henry asking Vicki for help, regarding an unusual, often recluse family. It appears they are being picked off one by one.
Mike has a bee in his bonnet regarding Henry & decides to do some investigating into his past. Not that he's jealous or anything (um yeah right..).
The author certainly knows her craft.Just to add I like that both books are written in the third person, you get in to everyones head, even the antagonist, TH does this really well, adding flashbacks of Henry's previous life. Apparently these books have been made into a television series, I haven't checked that out yet, but I certainly will once I have fininshed the reading the whole series,
The link for the next two books in one volume is The Blood Books: Volume 2; Blood Lines/Blood Pact
Can't say anything more than if you like mystery, murder heavily underlined with the supernatural, give these a go, a guanteed read...
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2010
I finally bought this book recently, having loved the television adaptation 'Blood Ties', starring Christina Cox and Kyle Schmid. This first novel covers the first two episodes of the television series. It gives more of a background to the characters and fills out the plotline, though the adaptation definitely works as a stand-alone.

It begins with Vicki Nelson, an ex-cop who left her job when her eyesight began to fail and has since set up on her own as a Private Investigator. When she witnesses a horrific murder by something... well, not quite human, she falls into the path of her ex-partner in love and police business, Mike Celluci, and the illegitimate son of Henry VIII, the deliciously dangerous 470 year-old vampire Henry Fitzroy. Henry may be the only person able to stop the monster that haunts the city streets, and together Vicki and Henry form an unlikely alliance under the police radar to put a stop to a demonic plot to bring Hell to Earth.

Although the book didn't have quite the same biting (sorry, sorry) sense of humour as the series, Vicki is still a fantastically fiery lead: strong, brave and likeable. Henry himself is dark, commanding and boyishly good looking, while Mike is the down-to-earth man of the hour, the handsome, long-suffering cop and ex who doesn't want to believe in the supernatural and simply demands justice in his homicide cases. Oh yeah, and he still has a total thing for Vicki. An interesting love trio indeed. Throw in a demon lord, a throat-slashing monster, a geeky student hell bent on taking over the world and a whole lot of other weird stuff, and you pretty much get the idea.

I think this is going to be a really fun series to read - and Tanya Huff was doing it way before Stephenie Meyer and Charlaine Harris. If you need to fill the Sookie Stackhouse/Edward Cullen-shaped gap in your life, give the Blood books a try!
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2003
This is the first in the Blood Series, and it is gripping from
begining to end. Vicky Nelson is a marvellous character, funny
and interesting and tough. The men in her life, vampire Henry
Fitzroy and policeman Mike Celluci are equally interesting, and
their struggle to defeat the demon terrorising Toronto is an
enthralling tale.
This book has everything, wonderful characters, exciting plot,
lots of humour, I can't imagine why one reviewer describes it as
not as good as it could have been, how much better could it get?
And if the ending was any more exciting it would be unbearable.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
This is the first book in a series concerning Vicki Nelson, private investigator, and Henry Fitzroy, a five hundred year old vampire and illegitimate son of Henry VIII. So far, so cliched urban romance story, right? However, there are a few things about this novel that piqued my interest and guaranteed I'll be reading the rest of the series.

In a genre that is crowded with books about vampires linked with strong female characters, a novel would need something extra to ensure it stands out. Huff provides that in the form of Vicki - this is a woman who leaves the police force when she is diagnosed with a degenerative eye condition that will possibly render her blind. Thanks to this, she is presented as strong, obstinate and bitter in turn. Her self pity at times becomes a little tiring, but still completely understandable for someone who has seen her life turn on its head. She is irascible, spiky and, above all, real. You can imagine going for drinks with this woman who has retained her dry sense of humour despite her circumstances. It is desperately refreshing to have a heroine who is not all-powerful and frighteningly capable of taking on the creatures that go bump in the night. In fact, Vicki is quite the reverse - positively handicapped when out at night.

Henry Fitzroy is another well written character, and his dynamic with Vicki is done with humour and warmth. I love that Henry is actually shorter than Vicki thanks to being born in a whole different century. I also love that Vicki is a snob about the height of a man she considers dating. The little excerpts showing Henry's court life before his change are interesting, but a little light weight.

Huff has done little to change the mythology of vampires as presented over the years - sure, crosses don't affect these vamps (in fact, Henry is a Catholic) but they sleep through the day and there is not a hint of sparkle. I'm undecided as to whether this is good or bad - on the one hand, it is lovely to read about traditional vampires, but on the other, I feel that Huff has the imagination and writing skills to pull off any changes.

The relationship side of things is where this book fell into cliched romance nonsense. Henry is drawn to Vicki despite the fact that he knows relationships with mortals will never end well. She starts to want him when his blood taking raises her lust. Blah blah blah - nothing new here! It might have been more interesting to keep the relationship on a partnership level, just working together on cases? I preferred the rich pickings between Vicki and Mike Celluci - their arguments and bitching and angry sex was funny, a little bit sad and, again, very real. One point I will note about the sex - it was kept neatly off-screen, which I preferred in comparison to someone like Ms Hamilton, who takes it too far the other way.

The nature of the detecting and the crime itself was not massively interesting or tension-filled, although I did find the criminal Norman Birdwell to be amusing and abhorrent in equal measure.

This novel's strength lies in the characters and their effective relationships with one another. Like I say, Huff has interested me enough to encourage purchase of more of her work. I look forward to the second book in the series.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2004
Vicki Nelson PI (an ex cop) is on her way home but whilst waiting for her subway train (set in Toronto) she hears a terrifying scream from the other platform, she arrives in time to interrupt the murderer (who flees) but not in time to save the victim who has had his throat brutally ripped out, further victims follow but these have also had all their blood drained! The first victims girlfriend hires Vicki to investigate.
Also investigating is Henry Fitzroy the illegitimate child of Henry VIII and five hundred years a vampire. He needs to make sure vampires blend in for he does not want a terrorized city that quickly brings out the sharpened stakes or 20th century laboratory equivalent. And this looks like another vampire has created a child and left it unguided.
Both realise the bodies are conforming to a pattern and they meet over the body of the 6th victim, realising there is a lot more at stake than they originally thought the hunt for the killer intensifies, with Vicki working during the day and Henry at night.
This is a good story well told and the characters are 3 dimensional (they have their own fears/insecurities and relationships that impact on them). You learn more about Henry through brief flashbacks which sit well within the book. Minor characters enhance the rounded fell of the world and when one in particular died I found myself going "No no not.....".
I definitely recommend this book also it has the feel that the next one in the series will be even better.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2001
A friend told me to read the "blood" series, starting with this one. Boy, was she right when she said I'd have fun. When Huff takes for example vampires and demons into her books, she'll leave them original enough to be recognized, but she'll change them enough to make them more than interesting, and I bet she has fun doing it. I can't give it 5 "crowns" because it is a little slow in the beginning, and the 4th and 5th "crown" belong with the sequels for this one, each one better than the previous.
The characters are great, and it is a delight getting to know them, one by one. So if you have a morbid sense of humour of if you're just looking for something really entertaining - then this is it.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 4 November 2012
BLOOD PRICE

Victoria "Vicki" Nelson had recently been diagnosed with Retintis Pigmentosa. She is slowly going blind. She already has no vision at night. Unable to settle for a desk job, Vicki turned in her badge at the Criminal Investigations Bureau of Toronto. Though Vicki no longer works in Homicide, she cannot give up investigating; therefore, Vicki is now a private investigator.

Bodies drained of blood are beginning to show up around the area. Coreen Fergus is the girlfriend of one of the victims. The newspapers have been claiming that a vampire is the cause of the recent murders and Coreen agrees. Vicki is hired to investigate the death of her boyfriend, find proof that a vampire killed him, and to eliminate the threat. Vicki takes the case. The facts do point to a vampire, but the creatures are only a myth. Vicki figures that Coreen simply needs closure, so she would find out who killed the boyfriend of her client. But Vicki's world tilts when she finds a vampire standing over the latest body.

Henry Fitzroy was born in the sixteenth century and raised a good Catholic. He is the illegitimate son of Henry VIII. When Vicki finds him with the killer's latest victim, he has two choices: Kill Vicki or talk to her. Surprisingly, it does not take Vicki long to accept that the impossible is actually possible. Henry is a vampire. Vampires do not want mortals to know they exist. This means Henry wants the killer stopped. Permanently. Working together, Henry and Vicki discover that the killer is a demon feeding. To stop the demon, they must find the mortal summoning it.

Homicide Detective Michael "Mike" Celluci had not wanted Vicki to leave the police force, but he also understood why she did. They had four years of friendship and occasionally slept together. Vicki had acted as Mike's safety valve and he had done the same for her. The situation has changed; however, being there for each other does not need to. And even though Vicki is now a civilian, she is still a valuable resource and highly respected by most in the force. If Mike cannot keep Vicki from snooping around, then he can at least help her and keep her safe. As for the new man in her life, Henry, Mike does not like him at all.

**** FOUR STARS! An excellent beginning to the Blood Series. I would have given the story five stars had there not been to many typos. (At least in the Kindle version I purchased the typos are everywhere.) The three main characters are Vicki, Henry, and Mike. The villain in this first story is a demon. It will be interesting to see whether each story has a different paranormal creature or not. According to the book cover, this series has been made into a television show called Blood Ties. (I do not know if it is still aired though.) From what I can gather, the Blood Series is six books long. The first five titles are available in print and electronic formats; however, the sixth title is paperback only. (At the time of this review.) That last book is simply a collection of short stories. The only short story not in the sixth book is in the anthology titled A Girl's Guide to Guns and Monsters.

Tanya Huff has a creative writing style that is also easy to read. All character backgrounds are well developed. Each of the three main characters has unique personalities and their own set of quirks and pet peeves. I can only hope that the rest of the series is this fantastic! ****

BLOOD TRAIL

Victoria "Vicki" Nelson became a private investigator after her eye disease (Retintis Pigmentosa) forced her off the Metro Police. Her best friend of over four years is Detective-Sergeant Michael "Mike" Celluci. Though Vicki is no longer with the Metropolitan Toronto Police Department, she and Mike still help each other blow off steam. Doing so often leads them to the bedroom. Their relationship is loose. They each see other people. Recently Vicki met Henry Fitzroy. Mike has no idea that Henry is a vampire or that the creatures even exist. Mike only knows that he does not like the man.

When Henry asks Vicki to help some of his friends with a problem, she knows that the problem may not be what most would call normal. Vicki and Henry travel to a sheep farm just north of London, Ontario. The sheep farm belongs to a family of werewolves. Vicki's job is to find the person, or people, involved in trying to kill them.

Between Vicki investigating during the day time and Henry during the night, good headway is being made. But then Mike shows up unexpectedly. Mike has been doing some background checking on Vicki's new boyfriend and he is convinced that Henry is involved in organized crime. Vicki is furious of course, but before she can get him to leave Mike learns what her clients are. Mike world not have believed it, except that he had seen a demon trying to kill Vicki only a month or so prior.

**** FOUR STARS! This is the second title in the Blood Series. Last story had a demon in it. This time it has werewolves. The love triangle finally finishes forming during this case. Mike and Henry realize that they both want an exclusive relationship with Vicki, and that neither are willing to give her up. As for Vicki, she is learning not to judge her clients by human standards, no matter how human they seem most of the time.

Huff has another winning story in this book. There are many typos (in the Kindle version that I purchased), but not as many as in the first story. Well done! ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
I've been watching the series on telly and thought to give the books a go but was wary as once you have "seen" a character, the book is often not as you would have hoped but this is an exception. Henry is even more attractive in the text as in the "flesh" and I look forward to reading all of the series with anticipation
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2009
I came at this book backwards in a way, as I had already seen the television adaptation Blood Ties.

I was prepared to be disappointed, as can happen sometimes if a book differs substantially from the adaptation.

I wasn't disappointed however. The story was a real page turner. The action begins at page one and doesn't really stop.

The characters are all well described and the flashbacks to Henry's past help establish him, without being intrusive to the main plot.

Bring on the next one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2010
In a genre that is crowded with books about vampires linked with strong female characters, a novel would need something extra to ensure it stands out. Huff provides that in the form of Vicki - this is a woman who leaves the police force when she is diagnosed with a degenerative eye condition that will possibly render her blind. Thanks to this, she is presented as strong, obstinate and bitter in turn. Her self pity at times becomes a little tiring, but still completely understandable for someone who has seen her life turn on its head. She is irascible, spiky and, above all, real. You can imagine going for drinks with this woman who has retained her dry sense of humour despite her circumstances. It is desperately refreshing to have a heroine who is not all-powerful and frighteningly capable of taking on the creatures that go bump in the night. In fact, Vicki is quite the reverse - positively handicapped when out at night. The nature of the detecting and the crime itself was not massively interesting or tension-filled, although I did find the criminal Norman Birdwell to be amusing and abhorrent in equal measure.
This novel's strength lies in the characters and their effective relationships with one another. Like I say, Huff has interested me enough to encourage purchase of more of her work
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse