Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Edition - Sgt. Pepper Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 June 2012
A surprisingly slight book.To me there's very little plot and lots of padding about the daily activities of the main character - who can't even really be called a heroine. A real shame because the story COULD have been a great deal more engrossing. Nan and Sarah (from The Wizard of London) make a reappearance, which COULD have been really interesting, but sadly seemed to be there mostly for padding and the chance to boost the word count by reprinting large chunks verbatim from The Wizard of London. Frankly, I can only call it a lazy book. It's ok to read, but nowhere up to Mercedes Lackey's previous standards. If this is your first Lackey book, I suspect it might be your last. My advice; don't buy the book, borrow it from the library, because it doesn't warrant reading twice.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
half-baked story mentioning in passing the 2 sensitive girls: Sarah Lyon-White and Nan Gillian, now grown up and looking for an occupation.
the main line story, vaguely resembling just about any known myth about mythical sea creatures, and not identifying with any, is both boring and has nothing to recommend it.
compared to the first mention of the sensitives, The Wizard of London, the two recurring characters are washed-out. The new ones are flat and uninteresting. The story line: boring and unintelligible.
it pains me to speak bad of any book, but to speak so of one that was my favorite author is agony.
and yet, compared to the amazingly intricate story line from the original Elemental Masters series, like Fire Rose and Reserved for the cat, this book is a waste of time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
ML's Elemental Masters series is going from strength to strength with tie-ins to previously written about characters, yet each is a stand-alone story. I prefer this series over her Valdemar one as that seems to be doing nothing but rehash old storylines and conflicts which I find very disappointing. I'm looking forward to the next Elemental Masters book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Not at all what I was expecting, but very good for all of that. Prothero is more likely to be a Cornish surname than Welsh, but you can't have everything!
The story concerns Mari, the daughter of a very sucessful fisherman from a small Welsh village. The plot is like a miniatue painting, there are no great evil villains, but only two bullies, the lesser who is narrow minded but ambitious, whilst the greater is a community leader, but is bigoted with ideas about a woman's place and what is right and proper rooted firmly in the dim and distant past. The story also follows the adventures of Nan and Sarah (with thier birds) who first made their appearance in The Wizard of London and who are sent to check up on the appearance of an Elemental Master in the wilds of Wales.
This is a romance, in both the old meaning of the word, as well as the modern one and quite a relief from some of the werewolf/vampire genre of fantasy. Good one, Ms Lackey! .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2013
Another good story from a very good writer, Mercedes tells a very good tale and brings in people from the poorer side of life. The story is about a girl standing up for herself, learning about her magic and getting what she deserves
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
I had been waiting for this novel because I'm very much a Mercedes Lackey fan. Only lately her novels are not up to the standard they used to be. This one is good on the characters, they come to life right from the start but there is almost nothing happening. The book is incredibly thin on plot and development. It would have made a nice little novella but is too little 'meat' for a novel. Verdict: Only for die hard fans. For everybody else I would recommend to read her early Valdemar series. They are what this is not.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Possibly one of my favourite books in the series. There's not as much 'action' in this one as some of the others but the writing is beautiful - the setting (the Welsh coast) is described amazingly well with a lot of Welsh tradition etc covered. This is also the return of Nan, Susan and their avian companions and a continuation of their story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
I really enjoyed this book, nice to meet up with Nan and Sarah again. This can be read as a standalone, but if you have read the other books in the series it follows the thread well.

There is so much more Mercedes Lackey can do with the Elemental Masters series, I am really looking forwards to more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
I enjoyed the rich blend of Celtic legend and the unique perspective of the Elemental Masters series which I have recently discovered. As ever, Mercedes Lackey gives us interesting characters with minds of their own. Four stars from me!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
The is not a bad story, but is a bit predictable and didn't really have any twists. I enjoy most of the Elemental Masters series but this one is a bit mediocre and feels like more could have been done with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse