Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 13 February 2014
Bought all the Arena series of short stories by Simon Scarrow at the inflated price only to find that this book is a compilation of them all when I came to read it. Did not get round to this book until after the final date for returning it so am now stuck with it. I feel cheated that Amazon did not point out at time of purchase that I already had this book on my kindle, albeit in sections. They do this if you mistakenly try to purchase an absolutely identical book to one on your kindle, so why not now? Why is it not obvious in the description on kindle store that this is a copy of the short story series all rolled into one book?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 October 2014
This book is set back in the time when Macro was an Optio and before he became acquainted with Cato. Thoroughly enjoyable but Simon Scarrow has made a slight historical error in his reference to "flash in the pan". The phrase did not exist in ancient Rome as the phrase refers to a mis-fire of a flintlock gun. Unless that is the Romans had...............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 August 2014
This series is top shelf for anyone interested in the period this series of books is gripping and extremely well written with great attention to gmhistoricsl details and wonderful characterisation keeps you entertained from the first page to the last wonderful . More please Simon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 November 2013
initially , the style of delivery of the story within the book was in my opinion , a bit like a "pale imitation" of the master, Bernard Cornwell, as I read further , I warmed to it, and it was in the end a good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2016
What a riveting story I could not put the book down. Can't wait for his next book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2014
Whilst I thought the book O.K. it was not the page turner I had hoped for. The fact that the characters involved appeared to be watered down versions of the highly successful Eagle series....I found it quite boring at times and although no doubt historically accurate not a book to enhance Simons reputation...........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 March 2014
Simon Scarrow writes wonderful books and can be recommended unreservedly Shame I had to return this as I until the book arrived I did not realise that is was a compilation
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 December 2016
Great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2016
As always Simon Scarrow at his best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2014
A good read from a great author.
The story is well written as with all Simon Scarrow books , Interesting and gripping story from start to completion
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse