Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
Screwed
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 13 June 2014
Great but read Plugged first. Imagine someone who receives a hot jalepeno chilli enema. Well this is just as funny and entertaining (I am talking about the first book, Plugged). Well this book is almost as good. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 January 2014
Excellent book , very funny and a great storyline . Having read Plugged I was looking forward to this book enormously and I was not disappointed . Would easily recommend it to all .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 May 2015
Really good read - funny and easy to follow.
Well done Eoin Colfer - again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2014
Great to read about Daniel McEvoy again. Tremendous humour, as you'd expect from Eoin Colfer and a welcome sequel. Mrs NM
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
I did enjoy this book, at times made me laugh out loud other times I was keeping my tears in, worth a reas
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2015
Just what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 May 2013
A great sequel by a master author a must read for anyone who actually has taste in books, nearly better than the first.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 November 2014
Great book, sent fast, 2 days after ordering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2013
Screwed is a screwball noir that rattles along a quick clip, with McEvoy pinging from one dose of slapstick violence and gallows humour to another. Colfer has an engaging voice and the narrative is witty and sassy, with a number of laugh out loud moments. As with all comic crime capers the plot is a little ridiculous and the characters lean towards caricature, but that's a key part of what makes them work. Colfer sets out a series of quirky plot strands then weaves together to form a story full of collisions and ricochets, whilst also filling in more of McEvoy's family back story. As I noted with respect to the first book, Plugged, McEvoy seemed a little out of key - he's meant to be scarred with deep psychological flaws courtesy of an abusive family upbringing and his time as a peacekeeper in the Lebanon, but he seems way too together, clear thinking and assured in his own violent abilities to fit that mould. Moreover, some of the humour seems a little forced at times. Nevertheless, Screwed is good rollicking fun and an enjoyable second book in the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2013
I have liked his other books but Eoin Colfer ruined an interesting plot with far too many jokey episodes and fond memories and if he continues in this manner I think he will start to lose readers.
As another reviewer wrote 'it was a hard read and at times you wanted to skip sections to get back to the plot'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse