Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 13 November 2015
I don't buy the Anita Blake books any more, I do pick them up at my local library if I see them. I loved the first few books in the series, and this one started reasonably well until we got to the boring sex scenes. If you are going to write soft porn it should arouse more interest than this rubbish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 August 2012
I keep doing the stupid thing of hoping that the Anita Blake books will get good again or even get back to not being train wrecks of porn, porn fight, complicated emotions, porn fight, fight and maybe some porn. Every time I'm disapppointed. That kinda makes me the fool I fear for continuing to buy these books when there are better ones out there.
I finished the book in about four hours and can honestly say, I have no wish to read it again which I used to get with the Anita Blake books.
Anita is now standing up for vampire and lycanthrope rights and is still being the monster for everyone, Ahhh poor girl. And even though I've just put down the book I can't think of much more to say. The plot of ANOTHER bad vamp in town has been done so many times now its getting hackneyed.
Please Ms Hamilton either get something new into the mix or just leave it, I don't think I will be buying another of your books, and frankly wouldn't reccomend anything above book 8 to anyone wanting a decent novel
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2013
I'v read all the Anita blake books. Loved the early stuff, liked the midway stuff and just tolerated the drivel that has been the latest stuff but this one will definately be the last Anita book I buy. Put simply it was utter crap that lacked any real story what so ever. It was however full of the rubbish that Hamilton seems so fond of padding these books out with these days....Anita putting herself down, Anita bigging herself up, cringy sex scenes and a boat load of mardy whinging.....don't waste your time or money, I know I won't be anymore.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 July 2012
I loved this book but have really enjoyed the whole series.

This is Antia at her best and you really feel as if you are part of the story. And when I get my new book I find I do not want to put the book down, they are so exciting.

I will buy the next in the series as I have to know what happens next.

Well done Laurell
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 February 2013
Guilty pleasures was the first vampire book I read and I immediately fell in love with the series. However the last few books have been very disappointing. What has happened to Laurell K. Hamilton?! Kiss the Dead is bogged down by tedious monologues in which Anita's character becomes increasingly boring. I'm actually bored of the sex scenes which lack originally and have become monotonous. For me the only reason to keep buying the books from this series is nostalgia and a hope that the next book will be better than the last.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2012
Anita Blake back to her best! Definitely one of the best of the series! I am now excited for he next!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2013
I have read every entry in the Anita Blake series, through its ups and downs. Despite some poor reviews, this isn't the worst book in the series. The sex (always a controversial subject in the series), although still there, is not as prominent as it was a few books ago. Sadly, Anita's personal angst raises its head once again - how someone can be this insecure in their life and relationships and yet still be hugely successful and popular makes my brain hurt.

There is some great stuff here - the opening chapters, with the hunt for some (more!) rogue vampires playing out very well. Hamilton should definitely pair Anita up on cases with Zebrowski more often (although ditching the repeated reminders of how Anita is just 'one of the guys' would be advisable) as they make for a good team and the new Marshall, Brice, is well written - although, given how easily Anita accepts him I half expected him to be a plant/double agent. Teaming up Anita's necromancy with a sniper worked brilliantly. There are some solid ideas in evidence here, let down by another "rogue vampires? Again?!" bad guy.

And then Anita goes home and suddenly we're smack bang in the middle of Eastenders with fur and fangs. Now, I understand the need for it, Hamilton painted herself into a corner several books back and all of that preternatural baggage can't just be abandoned. But just as she establishes that Anita is mastering - or at least controlling - things like the ardeur she promptly throws another spanner in to the machinery. The drama needs to be toned down, it detracts from the first section of the book.

Then suddenly, after several sex scenes, the action lands back on the doorstep with a heavy thump. Once again, we get a nice use of Anita's powers and her connection to the men in her life to save the day. It builds up wonderfully and the chapter ends on a dramatic cliffhanger - and then we get a chapter that is, I kid you not, one and a half pages long and amounts to a bunch of were's jumping on the bad guy, Anita rushing over and shooting him in the head. We then get another of the patented Hamilton Information Dumps in place of actual story development/pay off and some more personal drama.

The police stuff works really really well but, once again, the increasingly tedious personal life stuff bogs it down. You could easily tear out about a third of the book and you would miss nothing relevant to the story. As a writer that should be a wake up call (and one to your publishers too!) to make you assess your writing.

So, a mixed bag. Some great action, some tedious relationship blathering. A nice, middle of the road score seems suitable for a middle of the road offering.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 June 2012
To be honest I think that Anita should be allowed to rest for a while as to me this book felt more like a filler than anything else. Not a lot was accomplished and whilst the sex was restrained about half the title, once it started it really didn't stop. It's disappointing and a real let down for someone who has been a fan of the series for years.

All in, in my opinion, the book is a disappointment and not worth shelling out the full price for, if you want it to keep your collection looking nice, that's one thing, but when it feels that it is just a case of what can I do, insert (no pun intended) sex scene here or emotional inner turmoil then it really does leave you wondering about motivation for the character as well as if you really want to keep reading as a paying customer.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2012
I have been a long time reader of The Anita Blake series,but I must say the books are getting very romance orientated more mills and boon and less vampire slayer.
No real major plot line with only a few thrills, Anita spends time moaning about all the men in her life again and sending a insecure lover away.
No real Character development or real point to the plot. there are plenty of other decent Anita Blake novels out there so unless your a die hard fan with money to burn try a different novel.
Sorry if it comes across as negative but i found very little enjoyable in this novel, it was long and a chore.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2012
I really loved the Anita Blake series. I discovered them around the time number 19 was released and read them straight through (despite my husbands grumblings) as I could not put them down. They did start to drop off in quality as they went on, but I thought number 20 'Hit List' was good and had hoped that the series was getting a new lease of life. This book however has no real story. Ms Hamilton has just strung along a collection of random ideas that sometimes felt like a character role call and interspersed them with sex scenes, and dare I say, even those were a bit repetitive and boring. I think this series has finally died which is a shame as I really loved the characters. May they rest in peace.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse