Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
79
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This annual edition is a must for a cricket follower, whether armchair (warm) or more bracefully risking the elements. Like tea and toast, this blends with the ultimate game. I feel sorry for the reviewer who bought this on Kindle as I cannot imagine trying to find at fingertips the necessary information on a cricketer or county. Viewing matches or wanting quick information, the paperback is ideal. Even worse would be Wisden on e-book. This slips alongside the flask, into the pocket or wherever. A marvellous book that continues to be superb value for money with a mine of information. If you love cricket, the best of sport for me, this is for you. Price of a pint or two to enjoy with it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
It's taken me five minutes to discover that this book is hopelessly adapted to Kindle. The pages of statistics and fixtures, the basic raison d'etre for this annual, are unreadably faint and do not respond to changes in font size. The main market for this book is followers of county cricket - you want to be able to quickly look up the details for the teams of the particular match you are watching. However, you cannot navigate directly to a particular county's section - you either have to do a word search or scroll through all the pages in the county section. Unfortunately I will now have to return this and get it in print format as I usually find this book an invaluable adjunct to the cricket season. Do not make my mistake!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Small size, pocket size, affordable reference work. Up-to-date facts for 2013 sit comfortably alongside the reviews of 2012. Easy and accessible stats. which are a joy to leaf through. Comfortable size and weight which makes the book easy to carry to the games and the print, though small, is large enough not to cause too many problems. A definitive guide to both the forthcoming action of 2013 and a review of 2012. I particularly enjoy Ian Marshall's easy writing style and the clear way the book's presented. There aren't too many cricket reference works out there in this price range and The Playfair Cricket Annual is a particular winner. We buy one every year.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This little book has everything you need to drive your wife crazy. When you are sitting in the bubble watching cricket and she comes into the room and asks a question you can pick up the book and start to answer with a cornucopia of data. She goes away quickly and you can get back to watching the cricket.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
I did not realize I had not posted a review on this. Well worth the money and I also bought the 2014 version and will order 2015 as well. A lot of reviewers have complained about the quality of the paper. You have got to remember that it is a pocket book and only meant for a few short months - I have kept mine and will also keep 2014 and so on. They are handy to check up on. My book goes with me to all crikcet matches I go to. each player is listed for the club they play for - for that year when and where they were orn.and who they have played for in the past, if they have a famous father, grandfather. All the information you need. Back to the quality of the paper if a better quality was used like in the Wisden year book then you would have to triple and perhaps more thr price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Next year's Playfair Cricket Annual will be my thirtieth. Throughout every summer the latest issue sits beside my armchair and provides useful, easily found information on the players, history, records and achievements in the greatest of all games, Cricket.

Additionally, as of necessity - this is only a small pocket-sized publication - the content changes as the years go by, the library of previous issues which now have their own shelf in my bookcase provide very useful references to players now long retired when they were at their prime.

I would not be without this little book. Wisden it is not but it certainly packs a lot into a compact publication. Test match broadcasting, in particular, has improved immeasurably over the past thirty years but commentators and experts often raise as many questions as they answer and the information they do not provide is usually there in Playfair.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
Keeps it's simple easy to read and assimilate format. Is consistent each year with no introduction of gimmicks found in other publications!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
If you have seen a previous edition of this book then you will know how good it is and won't be reading reviews in detail.
If not, you need it. It summarises all Tests from the past year with career records, the county season with career records, player profiles and fixtures, general records and probable touring squads for New Zealand and Australia, all for under eight pounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
As always, this annual answers all the major questions for a cricket supporter. Who is playing for which county, all the test match results and all major (and many minor!) fixtures for the coming season. Not as comprehensive as Wisden but then it is a fraction if the price of that publication. Easy to have in the pocket and the most commonly visible publication at county grounds!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
I've bought annually and kept every edition barring the first two. Gives the cricket fan all of the basic statistical information one needs plus mini-career records of current players and fixture lists. Compact and still pocketable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)