Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
87
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 28 August 2016
Most books I just read once and then get rid of to the local Charity shop but this one is a real keeper and only half way through. Full of immediate action in a flashback from Afghanistan which shows a decent bit of background of Chase's former life and the impending evil soldier who comes into it later followed by great and not too long and drawn out character development and background to chases in jungles jet fighter shoot outs james bond type villains terrible torture and to be honest everything in the first 100 pages that any mission that Ethan Hawke went on would be proud to achieve. Give me more more more, a stunning book ordered them all now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
Another stomper from Andy McDermott - fast-paced, full of humour and really vivid and inventive action scenes. A lot of people would call this light reading but it's amazing how much thought and research has been put into this book. What I like is the cliffhanger at the end which makes you want to read the next book ( which I have). A great blockbuster.
Rex Grainger - the author of Elixir Stone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
Action from start to finish / you think you have finished until you turn the the page
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2017
good read like the rest of theme cant:wwit for more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
Not
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 June 2011
Book Description (from back of book)

" Nina Wilde and Eddie Chase are back for their seventh blockbusting adventure by the bestselling author of THE HUNT FOR ATLANTIS, Andy McDermott. When archaeologist Nina Wilde and her husband, ex-SAS soldier Eddie Chase, are given the chance to work on an Interpol investigation into smuggled artifacts, they are stunned to realise that the artifacts hold clues to the location of a lost Inca settlement hidden somewhere in South America. As Nina and Eddie dig deeper, it soon becomes clear that finding the settlement may only be the start of their incredible quest. One which, astonishingly, may lead them to one of the greatest legends of all time: El Dorado -- the mythical city of gold. Nina and Eddie are desperate to locate the fabled city. But they are not alone in their search. Deep in the jungles of Venezuela, they face corrupt soldiers, murderous revolutionaries and ruthless drug lords who will stop at nothing to obtain the city's treasures. With so much at stake, what price will they pay for the greatest of fortunes? "

Review

Still so many legends across the globe for our daring duo to uncover, but for me this picked up the pace where the last one had dropped it a bit, there seemed a slight lethargy to Sacred Vault that isn't here in Empire of Gold.
This is a true blockbuster rollercoaster ride from start to finish, if someone could afford the special effects Nina and Eddie would make Hollywood legends to rival Indiana Jones and theme park rides to thrill at Universal.

This book is never going to be literary award winning material but it is a true turn your brain off sit back and enjoy the ride fodder, and i for one love these books, with Andy McDermott right at the head of the pack for skill in writing these blockbuster adventure stories. (Parm)
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As a fan of the archaeological thrillers I pretty much can be found searching the shelves in a fair few bookshops trying to find something I've not already read and whilst there seems to be a plethora of new authors out there one name that I've learned to trust is Andy McDermott who has taken a different tack by having a heroic duo who complement each other.

Add to this a superb plot outline, some cracking prose and one hell of a break neck pace and it's a title that is difficult to put down. All in add a huge story arc, a huge underlying plot and danger coming from all directions which leaves this a title that will more than fill a good few hours of reading pleasure.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2011
This arrived yesterday, 25th Jan, haven't been able to put it down, tv, Black Opps, life has gone out the window. Andy McDermott does'nt just write books, he writes adventures on the scale of a big budget hollywood movie, taking the reader along for an amazing action packed fun filled ride. And Im only on chapter 6!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2011
I eagerly await the Nina/Eddie books they a well written page turners. All of the other synopsis have covered the plot sufficiently so I wont repeat it all.

I downloaded this to my kindle and decided to leave it to read later (lake saving your favourite chocolate in the box) and found myself chomping at the bit to get to it. It doesn't disappoint. I was stuck tonight on my commuter run for 2 hours longer than usual and was so engrossed I hardly noticed.

It's escapism of the finest quality. If you are new to these books it is best to read them in order as there is a theme and references to previous storylines. I am now regretting almost finishing this book as there isn't another out yet. These would make great films.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse