Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
15
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2014
Halfway through I had second thoughts about having purchased this book (read all the other ones in the series) sitnce the main characters are not involved in any action but are set in more discoursive situations. Interesting though because you get to know them better and change your opinion about parts of their personalities. Anyway, there is plenty of naval action in the second half and a very descriptive journey in foreign countries. In the end I really liked it. Awaiting the next one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2014
It should come as no surprise to those who have followed author Seth Hunter's adventures of Nathan Peake through the first 5 novels in this series, that The Spoils of Conquest is "more of the same" enjoyable historic naval fiction, this time set in a real and important venue of the then building British empire. Better knowledge of the HEIC (honorable East India Company) can, at best, expand the reader's knowledge of the forces that swayed and even moved England in this period and, at the least provide interesting conversation at a historical society dinner or your local pub.

The 'administer' of this mix of action, adventure and history is certainly adept at his task and that should come as no surprise as Seth Hunter is 'in reality' accomplished British author Paul Bryers. His writing style is '1st class' as he keeps the story moving quickly forward, providing graphic description, injecting humor, and always a plausible scenario. Author Seth Hunter has 'done his historical homework' and his understanding of naval combat and sail evolution of the period makes this a "good read" for both the 'armchair Age of Sail history student' and the HNF reader seeking a 'good yarn'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2014
I have read all the books in the Nathan Peake series so far and none have disappointed. The characters are engaging, the action exciting and the background nicely researched. Looking forward to the next adventure.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I liked the two previous books so waited for this one with enthousiasm. I was completely disappointed. Our hero has a secret mission which he defaults on due to hopes of capturing a frigate with the view to more prize money. After that it all goes downhill.
A third of the book is taken up with the heroine who is under the idea he has married someone else. Of course we know all will come right in the end, or the series would finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2014
What a series of books I got really engrossed in them. I found it very hard to put down my kindle fire,hats off to the Author this series of books where we'll written and kept me enthralled from beginning to the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
This series was only supposed to be a trilogy, and we are delighted that it is popular enough to have reached six books. The plot is well crafted, as Nathan Peake follows the trail of a real Royal Navy Lieutenant. And it then goes on to include the Bombay Marine, which was the naval branch of the Honorable East India Company. We have found a few other novels about them, but they are few and far between, so this was refreshing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
a good story that keeps you wnting to turn the pages
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
character and location repetition but not easy to put down, especially with a kindle.I have ordered the rest of the series. I love the mix of real and fictional characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2016
Awful read. Full of padded out dialect and little action. Not to be recommended.
Not Hunters usual standard. A total disaster.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
Another brilliant book,I hope this is not the last we see of Nathaniel Peake and that the next episode will be as riveting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse