Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 October 2017
Brilliant book as always from Mr Kellerman. I have read every book he has written and there is no better author than him. Very intelligent writing and stories very interesting. Just perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2017
I'm sorry I bought two of his books at the same time! RUBBISH< RUBBISH < RUBBISH! I would rather watch, "The Man from Uncle!" Open Channel D, I could write a better book myself!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2017
Terribly unsatisfying ending....this so-called case turns on a dime when Delaware focuses on a relatively innocuous phone conversation, bringing in new suspects who were less than minor characters, and coming up with a laughable motive in the end. Very disappointing. Used to enjoy these books but this one has Dr. Delaware's conversations just a series of one-liners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Great fan of Alex Delaware and Jonathan Kellerman and this book is no exception to his brilliant storytelling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2015
Love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 2 October 2016
I enjoyed most of the book. It's written in Jonathan Kellerman's usual smooth, compelling style with attention to the right details of characters and locations.

But Milo and Alex seemed unusually stupid, not realising that a certain character was obviously the next victim. I mean, it was really blatantly obvious. Yet a police lieutenant and a psychologist specialising in crime don't even consider the possibility? Implausible.

The ending also has plausibility problems. Who did it, that's plausible. The initial explanation why they did it was plausible too, and had the book ended with this, it would have been satisfactory. But then the perpetrators seemed to change their motivation which makes no sense at all. There's also huge helping of coincidence near the end, several times, and that disappointed me too.

I've read several of Jonathan Kellerman's later books recently, and it seems that while his premises, writing style and characterisation are great as always, he's lost his ability to write great conclusions, or maybe he just can no longer be bothered. That's my personal impression. Other readers may feel differently.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 September 2014
I always enjoy spending time with Alex and Milo. This one focuses a little more on Alex's clinical work, with gentle barbs at the US legal system - a well rounded, thoughtful and intelligent thriller with a very engaging protagonist once again demonstrates nuance, insight and the kind of comments about wider society that Travis McGee would nod in agreement with. Those two would get on famously.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2014
The book started slowly but was gripping. There was lots of interesting psychological detail. Some interesting phrases . . . The only walking people do in LA is on exercise walkers in gyms! Good stuff, an excellent slow paced thriller which keeps you guessing until the end.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 February 2014
If you have read previous installments in this author's ongoing series about Alex Delaware then you know what to expect here - a well written, cleverly plotted suspense novel. In this book you get exactly that and it is a gripping read. Even if you haven't previously read any of the novels in this series I suspect that you will find it easy to follow as there are very few references to previous events and the book stands well on its own. I have read all the Alex Delaware books and this is definitely one of the best.

Our favourite psychologist is involved in giving expert evidence in court in a custody battle between two sisters. The story starts with one sister threatening to kill him only for her to end up dead herself very soon afterwards. Alex finds himself paired up with his old friend Milo Sturgis and not only in fear of his life but beginning to think that the assessment he has made about the case may have been very wrong.

The book concentrates on the case and Alex's reactions to events and has a reasonable amount of action. The author also uses the book to make some pertinent points about the American justice system and the way in which child custody cases are handled. The strong point of this series is the insight which the author via Alex gives you into people's thoughts and behaviour. The plot is very much driven by the characters and the puzzle isn't always to work out who has done it but to find out why.

This books is well paced, full of action and has some interesting twists. Its best feature is that it is a very readable story. I very much enjoyed reading it and thank the publishers for a free copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2014
another great read from a great writer thoroughly enjoyed it lots of twists and a surprise ending really good story
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse