Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 3 July 2017
bought as a pressy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Great book! Many easy to follow recipes, a lot of deserts - better if you have a sweet tooth!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
lovely xmas gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I love this book

Perhaps I have fallen on the bake off band wagon but after several years away from baking I have rediscovered it and this book makes it easy with a great tips section and each recipe highlights the essential equipment.

I have also recently discovered bread making and the recipes for the white loaf and wholemeal bread are foolproof. Great results and haven't bought bread for months now. Do buy this book, you won't regret it apart from maybe popping on a few ounces.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2013
This is a lovely book for anyone who like me loves to bake and try new recipes. Well set out, good photographs, would make a great Engagement or Wedding Present.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
I was given this book - the first of John's in my vast collection - and I must say, I'm impressed.

Featured are both sweet and savoury recipes and differ from the norm which shows that John has taken the time to research and devise recipes which will tantilise and tempt your taste buds.

Ones I have tried to HUGE acclaim are:

Pear, Walnut & Marzipan Crumble Tart (Page 66) - use shop-bought Shortcrust Pastry, it's just as good and saves faffing. FAB for marzipan lovers!
Apricot & Pecan Herb Loaf (Page 104) - unusual, yes - but delish!
White Chocolae & Raspberry Melting Cake (Page 119) - easy to make, easier to eat .....
Chocolate & Pear Tart (Page 135) - again, use shop-bought pastry. Enables you to eat it quicker!
Lemon Curd Cake (Page 147) - a taste of Italy, particularly on a dull, dark, damp day in Blighty
Chocolate & Cassis Cake (Page 200) - uses up that Cassis bought for Christmas that you can't think what to do with (Delish)
Almond & Pear Crown Torte (Page 220) - you can leave the pears off if you wish - just ice it. It's still yummy

So if I've whetted your appetite, do give this book a go.

Note: Some of the recipes are quite long but that's due to the quite large font which is easy on the eye when reading, so don't be put off. You will turn to this lovely book, full of anecdotes and lovely photography, time and time again. I already have!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Really good informative book. Love the recipes and the photographes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
What mood are you in?? The book is full of original flavors and ideas. After a read through it's apparent that the book is very aptly named, John Whaite Bakes: Recipes for Every Day and Every Mood, as there are plenty of recipes to either lift one out of a bad mood or relax after a hard day and so on...

Chapters include an Introduction; Baker's Notes; All-Important Armoury; Simple Essentials; Seeking Sweet Solace; Calming a Bag of Nerves; The Mood for Food and Love; Edible Nirvana; Memoirs of a Baker; Simple Speedy Solutions; Deepest Darkest Desires; The Artist Within; and Happy Hour

So, the only question is where to start? I suppose it will depend on what mood I am in....
Here is a list of recipes I can't wait to try out. They are mostly sweet, but there are a nice amount of savory recipes in the book too.

Overnight Rustic Loaf
Midnight Blues Tart
Plait of Worries Loaf
Apricot and White Chocolate Flapjacks
Coconut and Lemon Bakewell
Italian Feeding Frenzy Focaccia
Eastern Sweet Spring Rolls
Plum and Pinenut Loaf Cake
White Chocolate and Raspberry Melting Cake
Tropical Sponge Pudding
Lemon and Poppy Seed Scones
Strawberry and Custard Shortbreads
Bakewell Muffins
Sunflower Seed Soda Bread
Mocha Choca Madeleines with Chocolate Dipping Sauce
Individual Apple Strudels
Spiced Sticky Toffee Pudding
Cherry Brandy and Brazil Nut Brownies
& all 8 cocktails

What are you going to bake first?? This review is based on my first impressions of the book and as a cook book collector I am very impressed with how it's written and the style is very inviting! As I bake from the book I will have all intentions of updating this review.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2014
This book makes you feel humble...John Whaite's character shines through in this book. Here's my reasons why I gave this five stars :
- bakers notes for tips on ingredients to opt for.
- Armoury section gives you tips on must haves, eg. Disposable piping bags instead of washable ones.
- bread, cake, sweet, savoury recipes as well as cocktail recipes (cherry bakewell Collins sounds scrummy) - nice surprise to have cocktails at end of book, wasn't expecting that.
- beautiful photos.
- ingredients are in a large, normal style font so easy to read.
- ingredients are not complicated and the list is not overwhelming.
- THE BOOK IS WRITTEN IN A SIMPLE MANOR, AS IF A FAMILY MEMBER/BEST FRIEND HAD WRITTEN IT DOWN FOR YOU. BRACKETS USED ALOT WITH ADDED INFO, AS IF JOHN SPEAKING TO THE READER.

If you loved watching John on GBBO then this book is for you. His down to earth warm character shines out in this book. I wish this guy all the best in the future and can't wait to order his next book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Well written and personal stories from the author. Would recommend to anyone looking for inspiration to spice up everyday baking.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)