Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
68
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 August 2013
True to its front page blurb it is the only book with ALL the facts about domestic and international football. But and it is a big but it appears under the Sky Sports label, which means the editorial content is minimal with a blinkered view of the game. Compared to previous yearbooks, the review of the season is briefer and there is no mention of 2013 summer transfers.

I hope that a rival yearbook can be created, putting pressure on Sky to produce an improved product.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2014
A football statisticians bible. I have a copy of all 44 editions of this book. This represents, and always has represented, the gold standard for football yearbooks in the UK. Includes in-depth coverage of English and Scottish football as well as the European club competitions and major international competitions. Less detailed coverage of Irish and Welsh football is included, along with a high level summary of statistics from other European countries. Received in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
An annual purchase purely because I have the previous 43 editions.

As stated last year football in England is not just about the Premier League - a league which has lost its reputation as the number one league in Europe - despite what Sky Sports will have you believe and purely from an entertainment point of view probably now ranks fourth.

My main interest is in the leagues below the Conference. This is proper football where you are welcomed by the local community and are treated with respect. In the last year of Rothmans Yearbook 2002-2003 and the first edition of Sky Sports Yearbook the following year there were 21 pages devoted to this level. This year there are 7 of which 5 relate solely to the FA Trophy and FA Vase.

Shame on you Sky Sports.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
This book has become a tradition in our family. My brother loves football and was always bought this by our parents. I have now taken over their role and buy it. He has got every copy since it was first published.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Amazingly comprehensive as always.
Sadly the size of the type for the summary sections is quite small for those of us who were there for the first issue!
A section dedicated to the career paths and success rating of managers is the only obvious ommission.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
In years gone by the football yearbooks had a diary of the headlines of the year, usually day by day which has been sadly missing from the latest versions and makes them not just an update of the stats of the previous years book. Its not just about the stats, we like to read about the stories through the season too, or have the makers decided that fans dont look at the back pages and just look at results?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
I really love these books. Have been buying them each and every year since 1975. I only lack three of the books in the whole series, starting with Rothman's Football Yearbook in 1969-70. Book number 1, 2, 3 and 5 are the only ones I am misssing. Could it be possible to get them ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
Absolutely loved by my 16 year old nephew. A full twelve months football information venues, dates etc. What more could a big fan need.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2014
I have bought every edition since it began in 1970 and it just gets better. Amazon normally has the best discounted deal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Our son is football daft and loves facts and figures. He enjoys absorbing all the facts contained in this yearbook
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)