Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2010
As per usual the sky sports yearbook is very comprehensive and plenty of detail. It gives you the winner's and league tables of all the major compition's in Britain. As well as all the results for all the top flight club compitions in England and Scotland. The welsh cup, all the european cup's and and the World Cup (including qualyfying). It also gives lot's of other results, tables and history other nations league results, selected woman's results, other international trophy's and many others. It also gives you a directory of all scottish and engliash league clubs. There also round ups, obituaries, records and fixtures.
This is a brilliant football refernce book, it's well layed out and is probably the best football reference book around.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2010
I use this book in a professional capacity, mainly the Who's Who style section (for those of you that remember that particular, now defunkt, publication, which was edited by the same prople.) Whilst there is always the internet for info, this is much simpler to pick up and check a player or club's info. Obviously as the season wears on, web-sites are more up-to-date but that still doesn't stop me buying the new edition each August as it just proves indespensible at times. I do question a few of the heights given in this year's edition (please can the Ed's check, although this can be hard to do as I've seen players on three different sites have three different heights?) but otherwide the publication is usually faultless. I defy any football enthusiast to not find one fact in it's 1000+ pages that doesn't make them go 'Oh really!'
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
Yet another year has gone by in the world of football. Yet another example of records left, right and centre having been changed.
As usual, The Sky Sports Football Yearbook surpasses all others, simply because the writers and contributors are keenly aware of the standard
need to keep up with the ever fast paced modern world of national and international football.
This 41st edition has done for football what the yearly Wisden does for cricket. The colour of the cover is synonymous with the original idea, no
doubt borrowed from Wisdon (Yellow), and has become fully recognisable as such.
I can well remember the shading changes from the 14th edition and the uproar caused by the colour change. Thanfully, since the 33rd year (the last "Rothman's" year) the same colour and format have remained in place.

What would I like to see, within those hallowed covers, that isn't there?
Well, obviously, space is the problem, but if it were possible, then going back to the 1st edition, a complete list of every Football League table from 1888, the soccer steps of historypage updated and revised, but most of all, a current "Career records of league goalscorers" section reintroduced (Pages 25 and 26 in the Ist edition) and even an all-time goal-scoring list all players ever.

Having said that, I am perfectly happy to have the same version I have now, but I believe those additions would prove interesting and useful.If not in the 42nd edition, how about a 50th edition special?

A brilliant book, giving endless hours of help, education and statistics for anyone interested in football.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Known to most people of a certain generation as "The Rothmans" the book continues to be an invaluable source of information to football fans everywhere. Jack and Glenda Rollin do a sterling job every year bringing this classic to print and for that reason alone deserve great credit. Yes; - there will always be some quirky errors along the way - ie: Alex McNair in fact has the most league appearances for Celtic not Billy McNeill - but by and large the information is reliable. Still a classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2010
Yes the Sky Sports Football Yearbook covers the same as previous years, and yes alot of historic information from years gone by, but I can't resist this book as I have every edition since the first edition as Rothmans Football Yearbook covering the 1969/70 season. You cannot possibly expect more info on even the least known footballers even on the website.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2010
For those football anoraks and stattos this is the definitive reference book, my first was 1974/75 [when it was sponsored by Rothmans] and I will continue purchasing each year's edition until I pop my clogs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2010
Once again the yearbook contains exhaustive statistical information about the British game. For depth, it really can't be beaten and I buy one every year. Personally I would like to see the international section expanded to include results as well as league tables, but that is a minor quibble. Basically, if you're obsessed with (British) football, you need this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
I ordered this as a Christmas present, so can't say what it was like but it did arrive in a tiely manner and well packaged, despite the dreadful weather.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
Forget the internet this has everything you need to be well informed when going to matches.
The only thing missing is an obituary entry for Derek Lacey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2011
From the speed of getting the book here, the packing and the flawless condition of the book, I'd recommend these folks to anyone/everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)