Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
Please Mr. Jardine keep on writing these books. I've caught up with you almost and will be awaiting your new book in September. It will be strange to have to wait for your next book as I have not had to before. I love them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Try this gentleman for a really good thrilling story, I can't praise him enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
Book 23 in the Bob Skinner series. As usual this book has been gripping from the moment I started reading it.. twists and turns all the way through it that leave you guessing right to the end. Fantastic book.... well worth reading
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2014
finished the story from the previous book - big life changes for Bob Skinner and some interesting new characters that I think will be featuring in future novels Mann and Provan for two
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Just keeps high standard
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2013
Wish I had found this author from his first book. Brilliant storyline, but did guess who the killer was half way through the book. Twists and turns good. Very good read .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
I have been waiting so long to find out
who was shot and I wasn't disappointed.
I thoroughly enjoyed it from beginning to
end. Roll on the next one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 January 2014
Pray For The Dying is really the second half of Funeral Note and would not, I imagine, be much of a read if you haven't read Funeral Note. Bob has moved to Strathclyde Police as temporary Chief so he has a new cast of people to work with which works well as Mr Jardine has probably taken the Edinburgh characters as far as he can. It will be interesting to see what comes next. I can't really say too much about the plot as it is so intertwined with Funeral Note and don't want to give anything away if you haven't read it. Suffice to say Bob tangles with MI5 and various politicians in his bid to find the person behind a contract killing and there are enough twists and turns to keep most readers turning the pages. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it seems to me that the balance between Bob's home and work life is nicely judged - enough work to keep the reader engrossed in the plot and enough home to round out the character and make him a bit more likeable than a straight procedural would make him. I recommend this book as a great read on top of Sgt Dan Provan's patter.
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
As usual this book has been gripping from the moment I started reading. The plot has several twists that leave you guessing right to the end. With Skinner temporarily taking control of Strathclyde Police, there are new characters to keep the series fresh. Add in the turmoil that is Skinner's family life and this book will keep you gripped. Mr Jardine, I salute you
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
I have been a Quintin Jardine fan for many a year, and i have lived with Skinner and the team through all sorts of adventures, so i believe i am well versed in this writer. I am sorry to say i was extremely disappointed in this last book, it seems that the police chief constable of Glasgow can do what he likes, takes on MI5 and Scottish Government and of course wins, changes staff like theres no tomorrow and no tribunals, decides who will go where in other forces, Dundee, London and Edinburgh, has more contacts than James Bond, all the top legal and newspaper contacts are in his favour, boy when does he get time to sleep. I realise this is fiction, but some dollop of reality and research would help. I felt that this was a wee bit too far fetched and rushed to a point whereby the plot became ridiculous and British Govt officials were being brought down and yet the other characters were powerless against him. Sorry Quintin not your best work i'm afraid.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse