Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 February 2010
I'm having a hard time reading and finishing this book. Not his best.

It just doesn't grab my interest and doesn't seem to flow at all. And Eleanor is jus a pain in the arse.

There are better books about the Templars. It's really a pity because normally Doherty is an excellent writer.

Time to get back to Brother Athelstan and Hugh Corbett, where he excels. I miss Brother Athelstan and Lord Horsecruncher.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you want a mystery and are unsure on what to present as an unusal gift to that adventure Histocial Fiction/Crime fan in your life then you can pretty much guarantee that if they have a love for the mysterious Templars, that this, the latest offering by Paul Doherty will find a willing reader as his adventure unfurls. Taking myths and blending his own unique style of story telling to the adventure the reader will be kept on a rollercoaster as they try to keep up with our protagonists as each step appears and takes them in a new direction. A fun book and a good bit of light escapism.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2008
I had a hard time finishing this book. Although the crusades (especially the first) are one of my main interests. In his appendix the author states that he based his book on Tyerman's 'A new history of the crusades'. I would recommend everyone to read Tyerman instead of Doherty. I really have the impression that Doherty made a (very) simplistic abbreviated version of the first chapters of Tyermans' masterpiece, mixed in some mystery, some love affair, et voilà, a new book.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This is the concluding work of the third of Paul Doherty's series of history-based fiction I've read, and, like the Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan and the Hugh Corbett mysteries, this book is a great read! My only complaint is that the series is too short with only two books. Unfortunately, there's not much to say about the Templars after the fall of the order at the hands of Philip IV of France.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
It is a good story in itself but starts too slowly and you never realize what exactly the main person is really up to at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
This is the first of the two history-based novels in Paul Doherty's Templar series. It chronicles the first crusade and the beginning of the Templars. Like the other book in the series (The Templar Magician), the Sorrowful Mysteries of Brother Athelstan, and the Hugh Corbett mysteries, it's a great read. The hardships suffered by the crusaders are staggering and artfully portrayed, as is the founding of the Templars by Hugh de Payens. I highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
Unusual start to book by Paul Doherty as sent in the Middle East. The book became a page turner as I tried to find out who the wrongdoers were. The book has left itself open for a sequel and I look forward to reading it. Great read as it is also stand alone at the moment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2017
Enjoyable read as a follow up to the previous books in the series. Good historical references and research done making it believable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
Excellent book, really enjoyed it. Paul Doherty is a new author to me but will be looking for more of his novels from today
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
Bought as a gift for, let's say, not a big reader. They loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here