Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
312
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2017
Due to an error this being starred as a four star when it should be a five star. My bad! However you are in for five star action. This is one of the best I prefer the stories where Cato's brains match Macros' fighting skills. Set in Rome with Imperial intrigue and assassination conspiracies for our boys to sort out. And they do. Plenty of fights, lots of gore, imagine it in the cinema. WOW! Read and enjoy Sorry Simon I didn't hit the final star properly. I will be more careful to give you your proper due with next eagerly anticipated one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
Excellent book - you really should read the series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2017
great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I like Scarrow's well drawn and fleshed out characters, the chalk and cheese legionaries Cato and Macro and have been a fan since Under the Eagle. Scarrow's ability to richly describe the backbreaking and violent daily life of the Roman legionary is well done throughout the Eagle series and to this he now adds the complex political intrigue at the end of the reign of Claudius as well.

However, Scarrow hasn't let up on the blood and guts in this book. You can still hear the clash of sword on sword, the screams of the injured and dying, the smell of blood and sweat and the immediacy, proximity, desperation and tension of the fights. This is Scarrow at his descriptive best.

Rome is starving and the overt and covert infighting now taking place in the first family and their supporters in the Roman civil service is now coming to a head and this is one Narcissus will loose eventually to his rival Pallas. Cato and Macro need to get out and away from this and the resolution to Praetorian gives them the opportunity to escape the upcoming infighting that was synonymous with regime change, with the added bonus of Cato earning a `get out of jail' card from Nero along the way as well.

I can't wait for the next three or four books in the series, let alone book XII, as there is so much potential still to be tapped.

A welcome addition to the series, an enjoyable read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2012
Another hit for Simon Scarrow, at least as far as I'm concened. Macro and Cato are in Rome, working under cover for the nasty Narcissus, trying to unearth a plot to kill the Emperor. If you ever saw the TV series I Claudius, or read the Rupert Graves book, then you will already have a feel for the period, and Scarrow does it full justice in this book. The only problem I found (and why I only give it 4 stars and not 5) is that I worked out the plot way ahead of the heroes. If you are a Scarrow fan then you'll be happy with this story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
I started it and finish it. But the story line is not amongst the best in Simon Carrow books which I enjoy reading. There were too much detective work rather than than action
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
simon scarrow has cato and marco up to their necks in it again very good story cant wait for next book back to the legion great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Another excellent book by Simon Scarrow who continues to make the principle characters come to life. The legion series is highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2014
eleven books into the series and still going strong.fast paced a tion and attention to historical detail bring the book and its characters to life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
Excellent read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse