Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Final Breath
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 January 2015
I have avoided John Francome like the plague over the years as I assumed he was simply hanging on to Dick Francis' coat tails (or should that be, riding breeches?). Well, that just goes to show how wrong prejudices can be. Ok, this is my first Francome, but this was an excellent read.....similar in style in many ways to Francis, but i have to say, the plot was more involved and intricate than most of the legend's - yes there were clear baddies, but there wasn't the obvious demon you often saw in Dick's novels. One swallow doesn't make a summer, but this one has certainly made me try his others, and kick myself for my previous prejudice.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2014
Francome knows racing and can spin a yarn. This was well balanced. However, having read some of his other books I guessed early on who had "dunnit". He paints a full picture of the various key locations - racing he'll have visited the more exotic locations could be rehear or first hand experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2010
When a beautiful Brazilian girl with a cloudy past falls for a quiet Yorkshire trainer the scene is set for all sorts of shenanigans including murder, fraud, blackmail, kidnapping, family feuds and even some good racing! The story speeds along as fast as any of John Francome's horses ever did and I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2018
John Francome writes stories as good as any writer has who have lived their life in the racing game. I have yet to read one of his books that were not first by the post. Keep it up you write as well as you rode like a champion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 December 2009
I have found the most recent John Francome books absolutely gripping and exciting. This one just isn't in quite the same league. Its still better than many so-called thrillers but not as fast moving or dramatic as other recent John Francome books. The racing side is accurate as always since John knows everything there is to know about racing. To be honest, I've forgotten the plot already and I've not long finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2018
Fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 October 2013
Cracking good read John francombe is an excellent retired jockey turned writer well proven to take over from the late great D i c k Francis
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2016
very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse