Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 14 November 2012
Review of the series (followed by a review of this book):
This series of books is based around the adventures of two men - Macro and Cato. Macro is a soldier through and through; he has spent his life in the army and is a centurion when we first meet him in the first book. In that book we also meet Cato who joins the legion as a new recruit, although he seems an unlikely candidate for a soldier. The series goes on to relate their many adventures and the relationship between them. Most of the stories are based - sometimes loosely - on real events and people, with a healthy dose of artistic license.
As far as I can tell the historical detail and facts are accurate, and the writing is generally engaging. There are criticisms in other reviews about the authors use of 'modern' slang; I know what they mean, but would we identify with 'roman' slang? For me, it is not a problem, I am not a fan of trying to invent historical language, it is too easy to fall into the 'ye olde shoppe' trap!
Overall, the series is very readable, and rolls along at a good pace. Like some other historical series, it doesn't do to try and fit the events into a timeline, as it soon becomes clear that the two men could not have done everything they do in one lifetime, but that doesn't detract from a fun series. Two niggles:the formatting annoys me in that the gaps between paragraphs are too long, particularly where there are long conversations, and they are a little over-priced.
Review of this book:
The saga continues! Macro and Cato find themselves involved in a fight which goes seriously wrong, thanks to a senior centurion who loses his nerve. As a result, their legion undergoes the punishment of decimation. The story is well written, as we now expect from the author, and is a real page turner. I do not want to put any spoilers in here, but I am doubtful as to whether the outcome of the story could ever have actually happened, but that is fiction for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 August 2011

44 AD and the second campaign is well under way. The Emperor wants Britain quelled. Centurions Macro and Cato lead their Second Legion under Centurion Maximus to trap Caratacus but he escapes. For their failure, General Plautius orders the decimation of the unit.


I have read all the "Eagle" series in order, followed the careers of Cato and Macro with great interest and eagerly await the already pre-ordered "Praetorian".
Not the heights of Literature (nor pretending to be), but well-written nevertheless, the series is filled with his great depth of knowledge, enthusiasm for and interest in the Romans.
Cunningly peopled with all the names from our history lessons - Vespasian, Cladius, Caratacus, Boudica - and the Roman campaigns to extend the Empire but centred on two Roman soldiers who become unlikely close friends, Macro and Cato, their careers and friendship carries the stories along. Following them closely allows the intimate details of human life to be in the forefront while the everyday lives of Roman soldiers and the political intrigues of the Roman Empire provide the backdrop.

PS I found it helpful to have a one-page list of Roman army ranks, which I used as a bookmark, and I had the odd glance at ancient maps (not mine I hasten to add!).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2011
I thought this would be more of the same, but once again, we delve deeper into the 2nd legion (which incidentally you can visit the remains of a barracks in Newport, South Wales). I have no knowledge of military rules, regulations, procedures etc, but this book immerses you into life of two soldiers with ease, one is intellectual and would rather be a librarian, the other is a hard Centurion who sees army life much more simply, who has grown respectful of his softer, yet competent companion. Sounds implausible, but that's what makes these stories so intelligent than perhaps the chick-lit style novels we tend to get in supermarkets. The character build up in each novel is vivid and crafted very well. Not a single paragraph is wasted in Scarrow's writing, it's efficient, rather like the Legion's he writes about. My only criticism is when he writes about troop movements and describing landscapes, sometimes it is tricky to imagine what is going and where, but they don't matter as the execution and outcome of the battles are ultimately the key issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2017
Again this book explores Cato's relationship and understanding of what it means to be a Roman Centurion. That you are simply "Sword Fodder" and at the whim of those with political motives and a need to be seen as being successful. Cato is often appalled at the way the Romans treat the indigenous population. Well written as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2015
Well the boys are at it again and this time wow they really are up against it. Cracking book in the series that just keeps on giving, This time you get drawn into all the sub characters as well and cannot help but feel for them during different stages of the book, Cannot wait to see where the series goes from here
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2012
Another good adventure from Simon. Our two friends, Cato and Macro are both centurions under the command of a bad piece of work, Maximus who botches up an important piece of work which manages to lead to the selection, by lots, of those troops to be decimated. Poor Cato is one of the ones chosen... Ooo-er! But have no fear! All will be well because we know there are more books in the series. The build-up of tension is very good and the knife-edge battles are bloody. Good stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2016
An enjoyable yarn well worth time spent reading. Follows in the tradition of the previous novels and moves along at a fair old pace. Descriptions of tactics are quite vivid and kept me enthralled. It brings alive the brutal world that the characters lived in, and the frightening reality of warfare. Would recommend, hope you get the same thrills as I did
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2013
I know Cato and Macro are going to survive this story before I even start reading the book. That is the nature of serial stories. There are sufficient twists and turns to keep me guessing as to how they will survive and in what condition.

Scarrow has clearly researched the period history extremely well and constructed two excellent believable heros in Cato and Macro.

The book immerses us into the brutality and inequality of day to day Roman life. Human Rights and democracy were never a big issue with the Romans. Slavery, Nepotism and Despotic Emperors all help to remind why the Roman society did not survive for as long as they expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 February 2018
bought it read it loved it arrived on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2012
Simon Scarrow is a brilliant writer, and holds the reader from chapter to chapter. The Eagles Prey is one of an ongoing series about two roman officers who work together very effectively, though coming from two very different backgrounds. The books are well researched and for anyone who has an interest in all things roman , then these books will serve to educate as well as entertain.I have read several of the preceeding volumes, and each, though having the same characters, are very different in their storylines. GREAT READ!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse