Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 13 November 2011
Something a bit different where it's money that drives guys when up against the Taliban, but you still feel for the characters even though the old King and Country bit is missing in this story! Wee bit predictable towards end, won't spoil it by revealing the ending but read it yourself and find out!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2013
This was the first Matt Lynn book that I had read , and was a little cautious , but the writing style and content had me hooked from the very first page ! Made me late for work on a couple of occasions :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2014
What a great book from Matt, it was difficult to put down, keep them coming
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 April 2013
A good story but it has a familiar ring to it. Once started it is difficult to put down even though you may know the end result.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 September 2013
this book arrived promptly and was as described I enjoyed reading it and have passed it on to be enjoyed by others
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 July 2009
I originally saw this book on the shelves of a station book shop but was put off by the title which looked a bit extreme however when I picked it up and read the back cover I thought it looked worth a read.

As stated in the other reviews if you like Andy McNab or Chris Ryan books I am sure you will like this.

Unlike their books, which typically tend to be about one former special forces soldier who has left and can't find another job or who are destitute, this book is about the mission of a group of mercenaries who are sent to Afghanistan. There is a fairly diverse bunch of guys in the story and whilst the plot is a bit far fetched it is believable and there are plenty of twists and turns.

The author has clearly done his research and there are plenty of exotic weapons which the group manages to purchase in the Afghani branch of guns'r'us

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and finished it in a couple of days and will definitely look out for other books from this author in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2014
A motley crew of ex soldiers from some of the most revered special forces teams in the world head to Afghanistan for a big payoff. They do this with grit, determination and a formidable set of weapons including the dreaded thermobaric. As you would expect nothing goes to plan and they have to use their skill and endurance to get out alive as they are pitted against a ruthless and determines set of enemies bent on their destruction. A fairly good read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2012
Death Force is a cut above the standard special forces action thriller. The characters are very well developed, and the team of men in the unit has been assembled with care, so that the skills and nationalities balance each other out. Matt Lynn has researched the story reasonably well, and there is a lot of skill in the way the tale is recounted. Some of the battle scenes are too over the top for my liking, and I don't think all the characters would have survive so easily, but all in all this is an excellent read.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 October 2012
I'll keep this review short and sweet as other reviewers have already covered the novel in great depth ad with very good synopsis. This is a great introduction to the Death Force series and I would recommend this is where new readers start. It is far too good a series to be reading in the wrong order as I can guarantee you will feel the need to read more having read one. There is quite a lot of setting up the series here, and Lynn spends a few pages introducing each character. Some readers may find these sections a bit dull. But stick with it. By the time you get into the adventure it is a great story - and will certainly get you hooked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here