Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Solo
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
119
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2002
Does anyone write this type of story better than Jill Mansell? Such a knack for mixing fantasy and reality, glamourous jet-setters and down-to-earth folks. She's really in a class of her own, and Solo is one of her best. Although it's an earlier novel, re-released recently, it truly stands the test of time. Tessa and Holly are unlikely best friends, but best friends to nth degree they are. Holly, flamboyant and spoiled has fallen for Max. Max, a handsome, wealthy hotel owner (oh, yeah, he's also a best-selling author) is a teeny bit of a womanizer and loves women who are the polar opposite of over-the-top Holly. Tessa's a proud, independent, poor (but gifted) painter. She allows Holly to drag her along to a party, where she meets Max's younger brother, Ross - the business brains of the two, better looking, and more than a teensy bit of a womanizer. Tessa knows he's not her type, but she also knows a good opportunity and a one night stand ensues. Two problems - Ross falls for Tessa hard and Tessa starts craving weird foods and gaining weight 6 weeks later.Oops. Mansell mixes in a huge cast of characters, but they all have relevance to the story and are so delicious. The baddies are bad, the good guys are wonderful. Of course, you know the ending will be happy, despite some real tears along the way. I agree with another reviewer - Solo is a terrific way to bide the time until the next new Jill Mansell book.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2002
Another revisited/republished Mansell classic that's stood the test of time. It's amazing that a book written such a long time ago can still be so relevant today.
Love blossoms from the most unlikely situation, but as you might expect doesn't run smoothly. This book is full of twists and turns which crop up when all appears to finally be going well! Of course you may be thinking that here lies nothing new and their timing may appear predictable but there content certainly isn't.
If your a fan of Jill Mansells other books then this one is a must, even if it's just to fill the void until she releases her next. Although the void won't last long as it's very easy to read and, as is often the way, appears to be over far too quickly.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2003
This book is absolutely brilliant-I couldn't put it down! Although the ending of the book is the usual happy love-fest (as with all of Mansell's books) this is more than made up for with the cast of well developed characters and a rollercoaster of unexpected twists and turns which cannot fail to keep the pages turning well into the night.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2005
A re-release of a Mansell classic this book stands the test of time. Its a real page turner which you dont want to put down. You really dont expect to find something originally released 14 years ago to be so relevant today but it is! Tessa a self-supporting modern woman indulges in a one-night stand...which results in an unplanned pregnancy the father? Lets just say he's someone that your mum really wouldn't approve of. This book follows the twists and turns of Tessa and Ross (the one your mum wouldn't approve of) relationship. Although Tessa is the main focus of the book, you also get involved in the troubled love life of her best friend Holly, Ross's brother Max, Ross's teenage daughter Grace - told you your mum wouldn't approve, Grace's mum Mattie. There are lots of other wonderful characters in this must read book that help to make this wonderful book such a success!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2015
After having read "Three Amazing Things About You" which I found absolutel superb in every way (my first Jill M by the way), I prompte ordered three other of her books and started with "Solo".

What a let-down. Although its not completely unreadable, I have struggled to get through and have completed it only because I hoped it might improve (did not) and because after all I wanted to know what happened to the main characters.

It IS light fiction, I know. But both most of the characters and the storyline(s) are so superficiously silly that it feels more like immature teenage fantasies than fun adult chick-lit.

I refer to the presentation of the book for storyline, a storyline, by the way, which drags on until a most predictable ending totally without original twists and turns. Only want to say that since "Solo" was written in the nineties it seems that Mansell has developed a whole lot since then. Based on "Three Amazing Things About You" I shall take my chance on a couple of her other recent books, while "Solo" will not take up place in my bookcase but go to the bin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2002
As a great fan of Jill Mansells work I found "Solo" to be absolutely fantastic..the ability to relate to the main character Tessa made the whole novel an uncanny experience (Although I am yet to meet that tall handsome light and bain of my life). Tessa stands for all modern women,stubborn to the point of infuriation yet you feel she is so right yet oh so wrong!! Her relationship with her best friend is to be envied and the vibrant cast of characters makes you live and breathe their very existence! A wonderfully written piece with so much to enthrall ,madden,excite and sadden you.To miss this would be a crying shame..welcome to 'The Party'.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2002
a truly entertaining Jill Mansell book. I have read all of her books and this is one of the best.Very funny and entertaining.I read it on holiday and finished it in two days!!
When Tess the central character meets Ross Monahan local hotel owner for the first time at a party one thing leads to another....! yes a one night stand!
However, Ross is a known womaniser and the next day Tess decides she's better off not getting heavily involved with him. Unfortunately things never turn out as they planned. Tess soon realises she's now eating for two and Ross realises he's completely smitten with Tess. Now all he has to do is to convince her is he is changed man and the only one for her and their new arrival.
It's harmless fun, a very light read for all lovers of chick lit!
if you enjoy this read, make sure you also read Mansell's other books, especially "perfect timing" and "open house"
can't wait to get my hands on a copy of Mansell's new book due out in november.
if you have read all Mansell's books like me, than i suggest you try Fiona Walker, or Catherine Alliott. quite alike.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2003
Solo was originally published over a decade ago, and has recently been re-released. It's not a light and breezy romantic comedy, filled with eccentric characters and hilarious antics, like Ms. Mansell's more recent works (my favourites being Good at Games and Millie's Fling). It's much more of a standard romance-novel formula--more melodrama than sit-com. Ross, the main love interest, is a bit too much of a macho philanderer to be an ideal romantic hero. Having said that, this book is a Jill Mansell and therefore worth reading!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2014
Ugh! Ugh, ugh, UGH!!

I cannot begin to review this book, I just can't. I am so DONE and OVER with Jill Mansell. What is wrong with you? What kind of sad, pathetic life have you led to make you come up with such disgusting drivel?

I could not have thought her books could get any worse, but oh my God, they could. They really could. I wish there was a 0 star rating I could give this book to appease my anger and loathing for it. How can ANYONE think this was worth 5 stars?

The characters are an embarrassment to humankind. Pathetic female protagonist, who starts off as an independent, strong-willed, funny - even witty - woman, turns into a lame, sad, annoying coward who runs away from her problems SEVERAL times. An a** of a male protagonist, who is a known womanizer, sleeps around with anything that moves, filthy rich, and disgustingly self-assured and arrogant, has a one night stand with this independent woman and BAM, is suddenly head over heels for her.

Not that it stops him from continuing to be an a**.

This is a book that promotes cheating, womanizing, and is self-destructive. There was nothing funny about it, nothing humorous, I found it painful to read - and this coming from a person who actually ENJOYS chick-lit and enjoys predictable love stories. But this, THIS, is a story written to insult and humiliate. There is nothing redeeming about it. Not about Ross, not about Tessa, not about Holly and not about Max. Nothing. Holly being the typical best friend who does crazy things to attract Ross's other butt cheek Max. And fails miserably - until the last 2 pages. Ross and Tessa play cat and mouse for 400 pages until they're finally happy in the last 2 or so.

This is a typical example of leaving a good, decent man for the disgusting kind. Holly choosing Max over Adam. Mansell is basically saying, the bad guys win, the bullies win it all.

I hate this book. I hate it so much. I hate every message the book tries to convey, and I hate the writing, and I hate the characters. I hope they all burn in fiction hell.

Mansell, I've given up every ounce of hope that was left since reading To the Moon and Back - my first for you.
I am severely disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
I loved the part where the Heroine actually stuck up for herself , the Hero was a jerk and had no regrets for how he treated the H .
But hated it when the doormat heroine begged him back I was like WTF.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here