Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
That's my third book in three weeks and they've all gripped me to the end. Excellent reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 January 2007
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this novel. But, when there is a transvestite cop, a lesbian lover on the same force and a new hero on the block, this makes for a refreshing change! Detective Jonathan Stride, fresh from being a lieutenant in Minnesota moves to being a lowly detective in Las Vegas just to be with his lover and finds himself trying to solve a spate of murders with no apparent connection. It will not spoil the story to reveal that there is a connection to a murder which happened 40 years ago. Add in the mafia, the old Rat Pack connections and Brian Freeman brings the story to an excellent conclusion with a great twist in the tale. I think Detective Stride will be around for a while yet.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Michael Connelly sums it up so succinctly on the front cover with his words `This guy can really tell a story'. Brian Freeman has sprung up from nowhere over the last couple of years to become, in my humble opinion, a genuine front-runner in the world of crime fiction thrillers. I might be wrong, but I would hazard a guess that he has taken inspiration from film directors such as Alfred Hitchcock and past masters of the written genre which might include the likes of Chandler, Leonard, Ellroy and Puzo. I say that because although the finished product is very much his own with his personal identity stamped on it, there are fleeting moments throughout this tale such as Mafia dons moving from New York to Las Vegas in the 1950s to set up their casino empires coupled with the cop swinging in the wind clinging to a frail rusty ladder atop a high-rise building at night while the baddie holds the cop's girlfriend at gunpoint. So yes there are some stereotypes I admit but such is the pace, the passion and complexity of the plot that for me any such weaknesses are totally forgiven.

It's just an absorbing and enjoyable story. In this sequel to IMMORAL (Freeman's debut novel) Detective Jonathan Stride has moved from his home town in Minnesota to the bright lights of Vegas in order to live with his luscious new lover, Detective Serena Dial, and while they are not active partners on duty (Stride has another partner of somewhat left-field sexuality!) they are very much partners in the bedroom and I'm pleased to say that this element of the story has been described much more professionally (i.e. less explicitly) than in Immoral, yet not for one moment lessening the erotic atmosphere the writer creates. Indeed this is raised to another level entirely with the introduction of the Mob boss's estranged daughter who has the hots for Serena too. The sexuality (as opposed to just sex) is always tasteful, arousing and very much in keeping with the story itself - never gratuitous - despite the fact that the main storyline is the hunt for a man who is seeking out specific but seemingly unrelated individuals in a mission of revenge assassinations. The story has a little of everything if not actually everything; greed, power, corruption, murder, love, revenge,
desire, family feuds dating back forty years and mysteries carried over that period as to the real identities of mothers, fathers and siblings.

I don't hand out 5 stars unless a book satisfies on every level and fulfils its objective. There are a lot of very good thrillers out there, but STRIPPED is in a class above. It has several characters to really believe in, it's got pace and touches of real style, and I won't hesitate to buy STALKED, the third in this outstanding series.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2007
This is fantastic crime writing. I'm a fan of Karin Slaughter and Brian Freeman is right up there with Slaughter. I thoroughly enjoyed Freeman's first novel, Immoral and Stripped is even better. Can't wait for his next novel. buy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
Jonathan Stride is back in Brian Freeman's 2nd novel Stripped. Set a few month's on from the first and Stride is now working in the neon city - Vegas.

Stripped is a good story, not as good as Immoral in my opinion but still has a strong plot and keeps you interested throughout. The charecter's and detail that the author write's with is again at a high standard and in Stride he has created someone who people can really empathise with.

Again like his previous novel, Stripped has many twists and turns and when you finally think you've cracked it, the story head's in a different direction.

Just short of 4 star's but very enjoyable. Im looking forward to the next installment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2007
If you have read immoral (Brian Freemans' first novel if not, please do).....then you'll love this. Jonathan Stride is an excellent character who will be around for years to come. The plot is brilliant (with a mix of obsession, blackmail, murder) and as with his first book, I couldn't put this down. I love James Patterson, Patricia Cornwell, Tess Gristen, Coban etc and Brian is defintely up there with them, if not at the top! Stripped is.....breathtaking, brilliant, talented.(If you don't believe me try it and see, you wont be disappointed). Away to start his third novel.....stalked.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2007
To sum up in one word:Wow!

I'm an avid reader of thrillers and am always on the lookout for a new author to add to my favourites and Brian Freeman certainly shoots to the top of my list, displacing Lee Childs.

This book had it all: believable characters, excellent storyline, exciting setting and a bit of sex & violence thrown in for good measure rounded off by cunning twist in the tale at the end.

A real page turner, which left me bleary-eyed as I couldn't lay it down. I've already ordered his first book Immoral and look forward to future publications.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2009
My second book by Brian Freeman & the second one he wrote. He's in line with his previous work and here we find detective Jonathan Stride and his girlfriend Serena Dial once again. Stride has moved from Minnesota to Las Vegas. His life with Serena seems to be fine, they are attracted and in love with each other, even though there is still a lot in their past hovering like a cloud, not allowing them to be completely relaxed and serene. And what happens in Vegas after Stride moves there will not help.

Las Vegas is a very different place to what Stride is used to. Heat, casinos, money & glitz mix with the sudden killing of a celebrity. Stride is called upon the murder scene along with his new working partner, Amanda. On the other side of town, Serena is looking into the hit-and-run killing of a child. Although the two murders do not seem to be connected, Jonny and Serena both encounter a sort of veiled secrecy surrounding them all, investigators & victims alike. Something is amiss, something is untouchable. And a shady past emerges from the ruins of an abandoned casino, soon to be destroyed & replaced with another one Vegas-style, where a gorgeous and extremely well known dancer was found murdered decades earlier.

Will Jonny and Serena be able not to disintegrate under the tremendous pressure they are under to solve and wrap up both crimes? Their personal relationship seems to become more tenuous and fragile due to working circumstances beyond their control. Many questions arise and the past lingers, causing a precariousness in their hearts. Will they find some answers? Find out by reading this fast paced, entertaining thriller.

Some situations are bold but in line with the surroundings the author wants to project. The narrative is easy and to the point. The solution to the murders will be detailed leaving nothing out, which is what a good crime novel should always do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2007
I thought "Immoral" was good but I agree with the other reviewers - this was even better.

The plot unravels at a fast pace through modern characters facing personal and emotional challenges. There are twists and turns - it's an exciting read which is gripping from the very first page and you won't want to put it down.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
This was just as good as his first novel which was also excellent. Lots of great characters. I couldn't put it down, wanting to know what was going to happen. Don't miss it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£8.99
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here