Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Living With Evil
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 January 2017
Omg my heart is just broken for Cynthia and her brothers and sisters,the anger I feel towards her parents are unreal my wish list for Cynthia is endless like why didn't the school take more notice of the state she was in as a child, and what sort of animals would do that to children Greer I could go on with this anger but I won't cause then the evil guys win,what I will do is send all my love and prayers to Cynthia and pray that u have strength always you are and will always be a very strong and special person and I believe they would have got there judgement paid to them when they left this world,u stay strong xxxxxxx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2015
Omg what have I read?. One of the most horrific child abuse books, definitely not for the faint hearted. I still can't get over what she went through and how nobody noticed and if they did they chose to ignore it. The day she gave birth at age 11 and what happened to her baby is so heartbreaking I can't get over that. How much torture can a child take and keep going . She was let down by everyone her mother father uncle and 2 aunts even her lovable grandma turned put to be evil and that's just the family . I doubt I will ever meet this woman but if I ever do I am going to give her the biggest hug ever. May you be blessed with happiness and love for the rest of your life. (I know this doesn't sound like a review but felt this was the only place to pass on a message to this remarkable woman,)God bless.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2016
I cannot say I liked the book because of the content but what Cynthia and her siblings had suffered was the most horrific childhood experience I have ever read I am the same age as Cynthia and we were poor but what they made her do for money was a nightmare I cannot say any more other than say it made me cry from beginning to the end xx
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 September 2014
Cynthia your strength and courage are amazing how you ever managed to come through all this ... those evil bastards are burning in hell now... and believing in God they knew its where they would go after meeting with their maker, He would NEVER allow such wicked evil bastards beyond the gates of Heaven I believe your brave brothers and beautiful sister have found your beloved Noleen and sharing so much love and happiness with her until one day mother and daughter will be reunited, Cynthia i send you love and best wishes u beautiful brave woman, love to Simon and Christopher God Bless you xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 March 2014
I don't actually like reading, but I came across this book which someone had posted on my Facebook page and having read the little bit that was supplied, I had to download it and read. Whilst reading it though I threw my kindle down on many occasions and to say the least my language was choice because I just could not and still cannot believe that something like this could happen. I'm not stupid and no these things happen, but this was the most horrific story I have ever read and I wished on many occasions that I wish I hadn't downloaded it. Cynthia Owen is a remarkable women to have gone through everything she went through and is still here to tell her story. I didn't like any of the book in the sense of I felt really bad for what was happening to her but then to get to the end and read what I read (sorry don't want to give anything away) I was very upset and cried for ages. I read it in 5 hours last weekend and it has bothered me all week.

Cynthia if you read reviews on your book, I am so sorry for all you went through and I applaud you for coming out the other end and I truly hope that the rest of your life is a happy one. God bless xx

Sorry, overall this book is well worth the read if your not a too sensitive person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2010
This is an excellent book about the tragic life of a young girl in Ireland. The author, Cynthia Owen is the child the book is about and it is an account of the tragic abuse she suffered at the hands of her Mum and Dad in the 1970's onwards. It is co-written by an excellent writer Rachel Murphy which must have been hard, to hear the trauma recounted to her by Cynthia. It is hard to believe that this happened in the 1970's and people around the child chose to ignore it. Not only that, they added to her suffering by physically and mentally abusing her themselves. If I was one of them, and they know who they are, i could not live with myself. To know that they could have intervened and stopped Cynthia's suffering is tragic. It is clear that Cynthia has been scarred for life by the trauma of the events in her childhood but has been brave enough to re-count these memories to enlighten others.She has shown that she has survived and as an adult now, is finally happy, and other abused people could be too.
It is a lesson to us all to realise that if we have a 'normal' happy family, we are very fortunate, as not everyone does.And if you know or suspect a child is being abused, you should speak up and do something about it, as you could save their life.
An excellent book and a 'must read' for every-one!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 July 2017
This book has stuck in my mind since I read it years ago in the library one of the most shocking and heartbreaking things I have ever read x
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2013
I have read many survivor stories and can honestly say that Cynthia is the strongest woman I have ever heard of. This book was written with honesty and clarity and although much of it was not "easy reading" it kept me enthralled as I constantly wanted to know how she got through such an abhorrent childhood.
I should probably not say this but I hope your evil parents rot in hell Cynthia, and hope the rest of your life is an extremely happy one, you deserve it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2016
This book was hard too put down, but I couldn't read past the part of the baby's murder. I found it too difficult too read as I have a very young son and admittedly, I was in tears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2015
I have read many books in a similar vain, however, this particular book is probably the most upsetting and harrowing I've ever read on the subject, so much so, I found it hard to believe in some places, that's not to say it didn't happen, but absolutely gut-wrenching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)