Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
42
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 July 2017
I loved this book Ginger you are a legend and now you are reunited with your beautiful legend your old lad Red Rum God bless you both xx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Excellent reading about a gripping rags to riches story,the special bond between Ginger McCain and Red Rum and the rise of a truly remarkable legend that is Red Rum.Thanks for all the great memories Rummy !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I guess I'm pretty lucky my ex hubby knew Ginger McCain so I have some fantastic photos of the great "Red Rum" in his lovely Cheshire surroundings. :-)

This book was fantastic from start to finish; Ginger has done a great job with it. Taking you right through his life, basically up to present day. It's lovely to hear "Rummy" story again from start to finish and how he loved showing off, which was true when you were taking photographs of him, "Red Rum£ loved the limelight, and he and Ginger were a great match the made history I'm sure that no one ever be able to repeat.

With me being a huge "Red Rum" fan I always backed Gingers horses and saw a lot run at Haydock Park during the 1990's,he did me some wonderful favours with the odds that some of horses won at, 33-1 and 100-1 etc. :-)

It's an excellent read and very compulsive, it's a book I shall read again. It takes pride of place in amongst my other horse racing books I own. :-)

It's well worth every penny to read the story of two very special beings. :-)
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2005
Having worked for Ginger, I found that this book is full of honesty. I couldn't put the book down, there's funny bits and sad things but it's a dream that became reality. It's a very good read for somebody who likes reading biographys and not just for the racing fan.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2005
Really enjoyed this book. What a life Ginger McCain has had! This book should not just be limited to horse racing fans. Could not put it down.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
Having met Ginger & his wife Beryl at this year's Grand National, I wanted to find out more about this man and how he got into training. I found the book a great read nothing too spectacular but just showing that normal down to earth people can achieve anything if they put their minds to it or have a passion for something. Ginger faced many obstacles in his life as a trainer but he just kept on mainly due to his passion of both horses and the sport. A great read for anyone who enjoys horse racing. How things were done then and now - with all the health and safety aspects and also comparing trainers/riders to prima donna footballers of today. What also comes across in the book was his love for Red Rum and all his horses.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
An excellent book if you're interested in the history of Red Rum, Aintree and Ginger McCain. A really good story, you can nearly hear his voice. Tells of his life in Southport and their eventual move to Cheshire and the horses he bought and trained. The book arrived in good condition and sent very quickly.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2010
This was bought for my father-in-law and he thoroughly enjoyed it.It was delivered very fast and I would buy from them again.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2007
Ginger McCain has raised plenty of eyebrows during his time but you have to admire his honesty. What you see is what you get with him and here is his story. He is a real character, a total one off and a national treasure. His love of, and empathy with the horses shines through. Only he could have found and trained a horse like Red Rum. Here is his love of Liverpool and all that the Grand National, the people's race, means to him and racing. Ginger is the epitome of all that is wonderful and unique about natiional hunt racing.

This book is great, from the name right down to the very last page. Buy it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2012
I bought this book as present for my husband who enjoys a flutter on the horses and he says that he enjoyed it very much. He has now passed the book on to a friend who is also interested in horse racing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)