Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
132
4.7 out of 5 stars
Jonny: My Autobiography
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.38+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 17 April 2017
just as a sample this really hooked me in. i have been looking for rugby autobiography. samples. nope nope nope. but this is AMASING!!! i wonder if that was spealt wong
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
3 nights into book and 250 pages read.

This is undoubtedly the best autobiography I have read.

From an outsider looking in it seems that Mr Wilkinson gave a lot of time and thought to it. This makes a pleasant change to books where it is clear the subject was not that interested in the process and end result.

The media have always suggested that he was a perfectionist but prior to reading this book I was not fully appreciative of what `perfectionist' meant.

His relationship with his brother is fascinating and as a father of 4 I would be delighted if my children are as close as Jonny and Sparks.

Haydn Hertz
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2011
It has been apparent for many years that Jonny Wilkinson is not just an 'ordinary' sportsman; this book is further compelling proof. Committed, if not driven, beyond the comprehension of most of us, Jonny has always been a bit of an enigma. The national hero of 2003, he unfortunately saw the other side of the fame coin through countless injury setbacks but always kept his own counsel and dignity, refusing to flaunt his fame in the outer reaches of the 'celebrity' goldfish bowl.

Like the man this book doesn't disappoint. Open with the truth and hard hitting it gives a unique opportunity to view in close-up a unique hero of English sport. Should be required reading for all.
11 Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2011
Jonny has once again surpised us with this brutally honest but totally absorbing autobiography.
JW is not just a great and unique sportman who stands out head and shoulder above all rugby players.
Jonny is also a fascinating complex intelligent sensitive human being who is on his own personal quest to enlightement, always learning and searching for the truth.
This is a great book from an truly exceptional young man. Thanks Jonny!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
Whilst not full of typical "rugger" anecdotes this is a much more interesting account of the life of a rugby perfectionist. Painfully honest throughout it really feels like Jonny has bared his soul and told his life story from within the body and mind of someone for whom anything less than total dedication is unacceptable.

Covering the rise and fall of English rugby I would thoroughly recommend this book to rugby and sports fans of any nationality.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
Brutally honest and intensely self-critical, this is an outstanding autobiography of one of the best rugby players of any era, and one of the most dedicated and professional sportsmen ever. Like everything else he does, Jonny pulls no punches in writing this book, although the only person he ever critiscises is himself. Thoroughly receommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2012
In this book Johnny is brutally honest about his life from a young rugby player up until his current status. He holds nothing back when describing his emotional state at times, it feels as though he has gotten a lot off his chest writing this. Must read!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Quite possibly one of my favourite rugby players of all time, which I hope is praise indeed coming from a Welshman!

Lays bare his character, flaws and all and it does feel as though he has had a significant involvement in the writing of his book, unlike other autobiographies.

A very complex character, it is interesting to read of his battles with his own inner need for perfection. It would be interesting to see the next part of this following his move to RC Toulon and subsequent retirement where he appeared to become much more comfortable in his own skin.

Must read for any rugby follower.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2011
This was a gripping, honest and touching book, which you can tell was written from the heart. Never before have I read such an open account of someone's career and life.
I can't recommend this book enough. One of the greatest sportsmen of out time delivers the most powerful book of the year
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2011
A very good read from start to finish. The book gives a truthful and honest account of Jonny`s life and career. It takes you through the ups and downs of a top sportsman. A must read book for anybody interested in sport.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)