Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 August 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
good work from Paul Doherty as allways
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2017
A good read I enjoyed the way you are kept guessing if you enjoy roman history and crime then you will enjoy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Brilliant another masterpiece by th wonderful Paul Doherty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2004
As the reader can deduce from the title this novel is about Ancient Rome. Is is set at the time of the Emperor Constantine and his manipulative mother Helena, who is the power behind his "reign". Claudia the leading character is Helena's spy. She is heavily involved with one of the foremost gladiators in the city and he has become the subject of a heavy betting syndicate who are attempting to manipulate his fights in the arena to their advantage. The book is full of the savagery and violence that is well documented for that period of history. Paul Doherty seems to be able to turn his hand to any period of history, be it Rome, Ancient Egypt or Medieval England. This is as good as any of his recent books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2004
As the reader can deduce from the title this novel is about Ancient Rome. Is is set at the time of the Emperor Constantine and his manipulative mother Helena, who is the power behind his "reign".
Claudia the leading character is Helena's spy. She is heavily involved with one of the foremost gladiators in the city and he has become the subject of a heavy betting syndicate who are attempting to manipulate his fights in the arena to their advantage.
The book is full of the savagery and violence that is well documented for that period of history. Paul Doherty seems to be able to turn his hand to any period of history, be it Rome, Ancient Egypt or Medieval England. This is as good as any of his recent books.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2006
What can I say? As interested as I may be in the period this book failed to really capture my attention and keep me turning pages, wondering what was going to happen next (to be frank, in the end I read on feverishly to get it over with).
Set at the time when Constantine has recently acquired power, the protagonist Claudia is supposed to be one of his mother Helena's spies. An unlikely spy if you ask me, most of the time she dozes of under a tree somewhere and is caught off guard by someone else who then volunteers some helpful information. I bet you didn't think spying was that easy, huh?
On top of this Doherty had the luminous idea of providing many of the characters with names like 'Petronius the Pimp', 'Festus the Fornicator' or 'Sallust the Searcher' which makes it all seem like some kind of childrens' book really.
I was disappointed in 'The Cup of Ghosts' by the same author, so I for one will be stearing clear of Doherty's novels for a while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Book two of the ancient roman mysteries. If you like accessable historical crime you will like this. The story moves along at a good pace, a bit repetative in the descriptive parts but a good easy read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2014
Slightly different from the usual Roman fiction.I have enjoyed this series of books by Paul Doherty,a prolific author whose books give a feel and taste of the period he writes about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
exceptional product. It does exactly what it says on the packaging. Would use again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse