Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
602
4.6 out of 5 stars
Going to Sea in a Sieve: The Autobiography
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 January 2015
The BEST read I have had in a long time - as always Danny Baker is entertaining. Love the footy references, the life story and the love story. Can wholly recommend. So well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Reading it on Kindle, first book, it ended rather more suddenly than expected. Looking forward to the follow-up. Well done Danny- a clever and very British self-deprecating account.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
...and little more than a setup for part two, but very enjoyable nonetheless. I guess I'd love a bit more detail in parts but asBaker himself said, it's none of my effing business.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2013
Brilliant book written by a very witty, nice man. A true story of his early life (I was there!). Lovely guy and his life shows that. Looking forward to further tales from him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
A non stop romp through his early years, and I didn't know the book had ended until the last page! Brilliant, and am off to buy the next one. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2012
Now I'm as big a Candyman fan as the next person who lolls around all afternoon with nothing better to do than eavesdrop on true creative talent (genius has no off switch as we know) but the book is plain misleading.

No handy step-by-step referrence to fashioning a sea-worthy vessel from a wholly unsuitable kitchen implement. Not a sieve, strainer or some say colander was mentioned. Shape up young man lest the middle-management enforcers act swiftly and unjustly to punish you.

A thousand times thank you and let your enemies camels all suffer fleas...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
baker has a charm and happy go lucky way of relating his story that makes you feel he has tumbled through life as it happened around him. great read. can't wait til book 2.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Being of the same generation as Danny! Albeit a scouser I connected with everything said its a great read amusing at best and reflective on the 70s when I grew up loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2016
Good read from a character who has had a working class upbringing with a sprinkle of good luck along the way. Danny is not at all short of a bit of self confidence either!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
Again this was for my son for a good read when he paid one of his regular visit to Kings for a couple of days now his Mother has got her nose in it apparently a great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)